Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > General Discussions about our Montanas
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2017, 07:46 PM   #1
joe direnzi
Seasoned Camper
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: neptune
Posts: 99
M.O.C. #20983
heat pump or furnace or both

hi all.does anyone know if theres a reason you cant run the furnace and the heat pump at the same time.we have a 3721rl the bedroom t stat will not control the furnace or the heat pump. the service manager says this is normal .he says only the rear tstat controls either furnace or heat pump
joe direnzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2017, 08:11 PM   #2
mhs4771
Montana Master
 
mhs4771's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sebring
Posts: 2,565
M.O.C. #9969
I would say it depends: In our case both AC units are also Heat Pumps and we have two T-stats, one for each. Only our Living Room T-stat controls the Propane Furnace and it's either Heat Pump or Furnace, although if it gets too cold and the HP can't keep up the Furnace will fire up. But since our Bedroom unit is separate we could have it on Heat Pump and the Living room on Furnace at the same time.
__________________
Michelle & Ann
2018 Chevy 3500HD High Country DRW 4X4 Crew Cab w/Duramax/Allison, Formally 2010 Montana 2955RL, Now Loaded 2016 SOB, Mor/ryde IS, Disc Brakes & Pin Box, Comfort Ride Hitch, Sailun 17.5 Tires.
mhs4771 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2017, 08:34 PM   #3
joe direnzi
Seasoned Camper
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: neptune
Posts: 99
M.O.C. #20983
thanks for your help.so u can run the living room h/p and the furnace at the same time
joe direnzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2017, 12:06 PM   #4
DQDick
Montana Master
 
DQDick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wilsey
Posts: 16,728
M.O.C. #11455
Not if they both run off the same thermostat. You'll also find the way your rig is configured will affect whether the heat pump really does the job for you. In our rig it just causes the cold air to pool on the livingroom floor which isn't why we're heating.
DQDick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2017, 02:36 PM   #5
WeBeFulltime
Montana Master
 
WeBeFulltime's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Hixson
Posts: 3,065
M.O.C. #11397
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhs4771 View Post
I would say it depends: In our case both AC units are also Heat Pumps and we have two T-stats, one for each. Only our Living Room T-stat controls the Propane Furnace and it's either Heat Pump or Furnace, although if it gets too cold and the HP can't keep up the Furnace will fire up. But since our Bedroom unit is separate we could have it on Heat Pump and the Living room on Furnace at the same time.
But according to your signature your unit is a SOB. I believe the question was regarding a Montana. Apples/Oranges?

__________________
2018.5 Montana 3791RD
2012 F350 SRW 6.7 PSD

Full Timing since September 1, 2010
WeBeFulltime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2017, 04:41 PM   #6
mhs4771
Montana Master
 
mhs4771's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sebring
Posts: 2,565
M.O.C. #9969
True, but I did start out with "In our case", but when we had our Monty with the single T-stat it had Zone 1 and Zone 2 and each could be set individually, so my assumption is if you have Heat Pumps on both AC units, Zone 1 could be on Propane Furnace while Zone 2 was set to Electric (Heat Pump).
__________________
Michelle & Ann
2018 Chevy 3500HD High Country DRW 4X4 Crew Cab w/Duramax/Allison, Formally 2010 Montana 2955RL, Now Loaded 2016 SOB, Mor/ryde IS, Disc Brakes & Pin Box, Comfort Ride Hitch, Sailun 17.5 Tires.
mhs4771 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2017, 07:11 PM   #7
joe direnzi
Seasoned Camper
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: neptune
Posts: 99
M.O.C. #20983
thanks for your help.we only have one heat pump in the rear.fwd bedroom tstat wont bring on heat pump or propane heat
joe direnzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2017, 06:13 AM   #8
RoadRunnerTR21
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Trinidad, TX
Posts: 479
M.O.C. #20746
Same with ours. Only the rear shows heat pump.
__________________
2018 Ram 3500 Laramie Longhorn 4X4 Dually Cummins Aisin CC LB / B&W Companion hitch
50 Gallon Transfer Flow in bed tank w/ Trax 3
2018 Montana 3121RL
RoadRunnerTR21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2017, 07:32 AM   #9
TLightning
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Kville
Posts: 2,781
M.O.C. #7871
Heat pump won't work below around 40/45 degrees.
TLightning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2017, 08:55 AM   #10
kdeiss
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Englewood
Posts: 3,087
M.O.C. #164
I am not familiar with how a Dometic Heat Pump controls are setup. I am sure their is a operation manual in your packet if a heat pump was installed in your unit.
I am very familiar with the operation of a residential Heat Pump.A heat Pump requires back up heat example Bank of Electric Heat strips or gas furnace. When the thermostat not satisfied for example a differential of 3 or 4 degrees the back up heat comes on.So IMO these units should be set up to turn on heat strip of propane furnace for backup. Also my understanding the RV units do not have a defrost cycle like residential units the compressor just shuts down. Just curious if the Dometic units are controlled with backup if they are not they should be
kdeiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2018, 07:02 PM   #11
DadsHemi
Montana Fan
 
DadsHemi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Florence
Posts: 319
M.O.C. #20472
Our 17 3160RL the bedroom stat has AC/Furnace only and the living room AC/Hp/Furnace. I tried to run the bedroom on Furnace and the living room on Hp but the furnace did not kick on. Should be able to if the stats are controling wo independent functions. Also if you have an electric fire place this aids the hp running in lower temps then the 40/45 out side degrees, I’m at 29 out side right now and it’s 70 inside by my wall hung temp gauge . Also I do keep my bedroom door closed while I’m in the living room so this helps a lot.
__________________

2018 Ram 3500 Megacab 6.7 Aisin
4x4 4:10 Gears Lariame
2017 Montana 3160RL
DadsHemi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2018, 08:56 PM   #12
CaptnJohn
Montana Master
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: South East NC
Posts: 1,406
M.O.C. #19865
Quote:
Originally Posted by DadsHemi View Post
Our 17 3160RL the bedroom stat has AC/Furnace only and the living room AC/Hp/Furnace. I tried to run the bedroom on Furnace and the living room on Hp but the furnace did not kick on. Should be able to if the stats are controling wo independent functions. Also if you have an electric fire place this aids the hp running in lower temps then the 40/45 out side degrees, Iím at 29 out side right now and itís 70 inside by my wall hung temp gauge . Also I do keep my bedroom door closed while Iím in the living room so this helps a lot.
I've run the HP down to about 35 but it seemed to run excessively. I thought for sure it would freeze up at/below 32. With the FP and HP we stay comfy. The only noticeable difference is the floor is colder than with the furnace running.
CaptnJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2018, 09:22 PM   #13
BuilderBob
Montana Master
 
BuilderBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Tacoma
Posts: 1,518
M.O.C. #20475
The service manager is correct the thermostat in the bedroom is for the bedroom A\C only
the living room thermostat controls A\C, Heat, Heat pump & Auto functions.

Bob & Carol
Washington St
2017 352RL 2008 Dodge 3500 DRW crew cab 4x4 LB 6.7L
BuilderBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2018, 08:00 AM   #14
wnorton
Established Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Portland
Posts: 24
M.O.C. #21015
Two thermostats

I was of the understanding that the bedroom unit was only AC, the living room unit was AC, HP and Furnace. Am I incorrect? Our unit is 2017 3910FB

Thanks in advance.
wnorton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2018, 04:50 PM   #15
CaptnJohn
Montana Master
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: South East NC
Posts: 1,406
M.O.C. #19865
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnorton View Post
I was of the understanding that the bedroom unit was only AC, the living room unit was AC, HP and Furnace. Am I incorrect? Our unit is 2017 3910FB

Thanks in advance.
Yes, you are correct.
CaptnJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2018, 06:47 PM   #16
joe direnzi
Seasoned Camper
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: neptune
Posts: 99
M.O.C. #20983
Thanks CaptnJohn ,I just thought you should be able to control either furnace or heat pump from bedroom
joe direnzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2018, 08:40 PM   #17
CaptnJohn
Montana Master
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: South East NC
Posts: 1,406
M.O.C. #19865
Quote:
Originally Posted by joe direnzi View Post
Thanks CaptnJohn ,I just thought you should be able to control either furnace or heat pump from bedroom
Now,,, if you have 2 AC units with HP you can put the furnace on with the main only but the HP with either or both. If my bedroom AC ever gets replaced that is the way I'll go. Tonight I shut the HP down an hour ago and went to furnace. Would be nice to have the HP going on the BR unit.
CaptnJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2018, 05:45 PM   #18
joe direnzi
Seasoned Camper
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: neptune
Posts: 99
M.O.C. #20983
yep it would be nice to have a heat pump in the fwd bedroom.we have a 3721rl
joe direnzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Montana RV, Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×