Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > General Discussions about our Montanas
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-06-2017, 10:20 PM   #1
Bruce0850
Established Member
 
Bruce0850's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Draper
Posts: 18
M.O.C. #19350
Looking for info on satelite tv setup

I have DirecTV at home, and am looking to get service in the RV. What do I need? Antenna, control box, cables, etc. Looking for recommendations. I know nothing about satellite service. I just pay the bill at home.
__________________
2017 Montana 3820FK
2005 Chevrolet 3500 Duramax Dually
Bruce0850 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2017, 10:48 PM   #2
topjustice
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Coeur D Alene
Posts: 109
M.O.C. #19835
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruce0850 View Post
I have DirecTV at home, and am looking to get service in the RV. What do I need? Antenna, control box, cables, etc. Looking for recommendations. I know nothing about satellite service. I just pay the bill at home.
I have Dish Network but I assume the procedure is the same for DirectTV. I just installed an extra receiver box at home, which only cost $7 month to rent. Once the receiver is set up at home I took it to the trailer and used it there with a carry out antenna. Not sure what DirectTV antenna to suggest but I'm sure someone else will. Best antenna connection is with a 25' cable, but no more than 50'. Use HDMI from receiver to TV. Setup will display on TV so just follow instructions as you would at home.
topjustice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2017, 05:51 AM   #3
jfaberna
Montana Master
 
jfaberna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Holly Springs, NC
Posts: 808
M.O.C. #13909
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruce0850 View Post
I have DirecTV at home, and am looking to get service in the RV. What do I need? Antenna, control box, cables, etc. Looking for recommendations. I know nothing about satellite service. I just pay the bill at home.
I have DirecTV at home like you do. It's the Genie DVR and 2 Genie Clients. I simple remove them from my house when I go camping and put them in the RV. You want to duplicate what you have at home. In my case the install is relatively new and that means a SWM wired system. i.e. one wire coming from the dish to a SWM splitter and SWM power supply.

With DirecTV to get HD you need a Slimline dish. Either a Winegard Trav'ler on the roof or a regular Slimline dish on a tripod as I use.

I run one cable from the dish tripod to my convenience center where I install the SWM splitter. I put the SWM power supply in the entertainment cabinet. The receivers and their power supplies are brought from home.

DirecTV doesn't know you've even moved your equipment and assuming you can aim a dish, then you're in business. However, if you are outside the local beam for your local channels, you will not receive them, about 500 miles.

Home that helps. I know I've left out some details and options for not removing you home equipment, but this is a start.
__________________
Jim & Martha Abernathy
2014 Montana 3402RL Level UP, G614's, TST 507, Renergy 100W solar
2014 Ram 3500 Laramie® 4x2 diesel dually crew-cab 3.73 axle, Reese R20
jfaberna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2017, 07:56 AM   #4
1retired06
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Lake Gaston
Posts: 6,385
M.O.C. #12156
We run two directv receivers, taken from the house. Have the receivers, tripod dish, and coax cables. Also a compass for azimuth settings. When snowbirding in Florida, I call Directv and they swing the local channels for me. Easy. Just did that 2 November. Directv has no problem with us relocating equipment, and actually maintains both NC and FL zipcodes in our account records. When on short trips, we take one receiver, and use the roof antenna for locals with the bedroom tv. Used to hook up a simple A/B switch, to switch back and forth.
__________________
Mike and Lorraine
2002 3655 FL, 2005 3650RK
2010 3665RE, 2015 3910FB
F350 crew cab dually 6.7
1retired06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2017, 12:17 PM   #5
hybridhauler
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: purvis
Posts: 168
M.O.C. #13723
We have Direct TV at home. We contacted them for an additional box for the RV and they sent out a Tec and he installed it. It’s been flawless for 3 years.
hybridhauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 09:11 PM   #6
masterdrago
Seasoned Camper
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Willis
Posts: 94
M.O.C. #20587
I've found that our Dish boxes do not like A/B switches or being sent through an audio receiver. For some reason the sound gets dropped. I had to run the video from the Dish box using 3 color cables and the sound through a digital TosLink to get it to work at home. In the 5r, we will just use a simple hdmi cable direct to the display since the sound system in the 5r does not have surround.
masterdrago is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.