Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
 

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > General Discussions about our Montanas
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-16-2014, 12:13 PM   #1
Pugtracker
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Livingston
Posts: 303
M.O.C. #12009
RIG power cords

Is there a problem when I have a 50 amp cord that will not reach rig that I plug a pig tail to reduce it to my 30amp cord than plug another pig tail into my 30amp cord so as to increase back to 50 amp so i can use my 50 amp cord to reach my rig.

Thanks
 
__________________
2014 3850FL
2008 F350 SRW
David and Liz
Pugtracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 12:22 PM   #2
BB_TX
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: McKinney
Posts: 6,059
M.O.C. #6433
No problem other than you will be limited to 30 amps due to the adapter.
And since you will limited to 30 amps the extra length should be no problem.
__________________
Bill & Patricia

2007 3075RL
2012 F350 SRW CC LB FX4 6.7
BB_TX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 12:45 PM   #3
Pugtracker
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Livingston
Posts: 303
M.O.C. #12009
Thanks Bill
I asked them at the dealership and they said no you cant. My jaw dropped as i know ive seen it done putting 30 and 50 amp cords to reach a rig. So I came to real experts here. They also claimed it would damage the rig. So unless anyone has and cons. I will be backed up 20 ft and plugged in.

David
__________________
2014 3850FL
2008 F350 SRW
David and Liz
Pugtracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 01:22 PM   #4
1retired06
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Lake Gaston
Posts: 8,337
M.O.C. #12156
Just remember what your actual amps are.
__________________
Mike and Lorraine
2002 3655 FL, 2005 3650RK
2010 3665RE, 2015 3910FB
F350 crew cab dually 6.7
1retired06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 01:24 PM   #5
Pugtracker
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Livingston
Posts: 303
M.O.C. #12009
Right on the amps will only have 30Amp
Quote:
quote:Originally posted by 1retired06

Just remember what your actual amps are.
__________________
2014 3850FL
2008 F350 SRW
David and Liz
Pugtracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 01:48 PM   #6
rohrmann
Montana Master
 
rohrmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Box Elder
Posts: 3,643
M.O.C. #12947
And remember, that will be 30 amps on one leg that is then split to both the 50 amp legs into your your rig. If you see yourself getting into that situation often, you would be wise to purchase a 50 amp extension cord if you desire full electric service to your rig.
__________________
Bob & Becky
2012 3402RL
2012 Chevy 2500HD D/A CC 4WD
rohrmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 02:36 PM   #7
mlh
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Salem
Posts: 6,100
M.O.C. #2283
I don't even bother to take my 50 amp cord with me. I have only one AC and don't need it.
Lynwood
__________________
www.harrellsprec.com
Lynwood Harrell
323 RL HC 2008 F250
mlh is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 04:32 PM   #8
boat391
Montana Master
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Ronan
Posts: 513
M.O.C. #5756
I have wondered why Montana places the power in on the back of the 5'er why not place it on the side where most campground hook up are thus not needing a extension cord at all my keystone toy hauler has it on the side. The 50 amp cord is heavy enough a second one just adds to the frustration.
boat391 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 07:38 PM   #9
Artemus Gordon
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Redding
Posts: 1,421
M.O.C. #12339
I always say, you have surge protector on RV, you have some protection from power issues. I will tell you my 3750 does not like 30 amps. I have finally learned the combinations that work when connected to other than 50 amps. Personally I have never had issue with power at back of RV.
Artemus Gordon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2014, 03:27 AM   #10
JandC
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Frostproof, FL USA
Posts: 2,350
M.O.C. #13272
I won't stay where I can't get 50amp. I would stay in a site with no sewer hook up and 50amp before staying in a site with 30amp and sewer hook up. Probably one out of ten or twelve CG's we have visited I have had to drag out the 50amp extension to reach the back of the coach.
__________________
Previous: 2008 Montana 3400RL & 2014 3725RL
Current: Full Time F350 pulling SOB Toy Hauler
JandC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2014, 04:19 AM   #11
DQDick
Site Team
 
DQDick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wilsey
Posts: 18,091
M.O.C. #11455
I have a 50amp extension cord and after several years of never having a use for it had a pigtail made so I can sub it for my regular power cord should it have a problem or be stolen.
__________________
Dick, Joyce, Diego, Picatso and Gustav
2017 3720 RL, and 2013 HC 343RL
2017 3500 Dodge Maxi DRW 4X4, Pullrite Hitch, IS, Disk Brakes, 3rd AC, Winegard Traveler, Bathroom door mod, Dometic 320, couch for desk swap, etc.
DQDick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2014, 04:46 AM   #12
paulinbaja
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Chico
Posts: 269
M.O.C. #14041
If you use a "pig tail" to reduce the fifty amp shore power to connect a 30 amp cord then another "pig tail" to connect to the fifty amp cord and then to the unit you are creating a possible over current situation on the 30 amp cord. The circuit breaker at the shore power will be 50 amps! Regardless of all else you are then capable of asking your 30 amp cord to carry up to 50 amps.

50 amp and 30 amp cords are different in more ways than just the amperage rating. The adapters (pig tails) do more than just change the connectors to allow connecting the other type cord. Your best bet would be to plug the thirty amp cord into the shore power 30 amp receptacle and then use a "pig tail" to allow your rig to connect to that cord. Or better yet, buy a 50 amp extension cord. Even the addition of the 50 amp extension cord could reduce available voltage if you are using many appliances at once. Talk with an electrician --one that knows RV's and they can give you the particulars on voltage drop and the "adjustments" the adapters make.

When all is said and done, it is always best to use the shortest shore power cord possible AND plug into an outlet with no greater amperage rating than the smallest rated cord you are using.

There is a very long discussion on this subject elsewhere in this forum. Find it and read it. It is a bit confusing because there are so many different ways of saying the same thing and some of the statements are not totally accurate but there is a lot of knowledge shared there.

Good Luck
paulinbaja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2014, 06:40 AM   #13
Charli
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 210
M.O.C. #14048
When parked at home we have always just run a regular extension cord from the house (15Amp) to the trailer. Probably about 50-60'. Have recently read where this might cause problems due to the long run of a small gauge extension cord. Now I am putting an adapter on the house receptacle directly on to our 30amp RV extension cord and then put a pigtail on the 50Amp cord to the receptacle on the trailer. Still only starting out with 15amps but with the heavier gauge extension cords I shouldn't be losing amperage. We only use this set up to keep the battery charged and run the fridge to cool it before trips.
__________________
Bruce & Lori & Charli our 60# lap dog
2017 F350 Lariat, 6.7L, 6 1/2' box, Reece 18k Elite
2015 Mountaineer 331RLT, Dual pane windows, Dual A/C, Fireplace, 5th Airborne Sidewinder, Sailun tires.
Charli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2014, 11:50 AM   #14
Phil P
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Okeechobee
Posts: 2,150
M.O.C. #11206
Hi

The key word there is “pig tail”.

If you are talking about the unit you purchase at CW or some other RV supply store that looks like and is commonly called a “dog bone” the no you can’t.

The reason is the “dog bone” crosses Line 1 and Line 2 it should trip the circuit breakers on a 50-amp service.



Phil P
__________________
2009 Montana 3665RE
2009 Duramax 3500 DRW quad cab
personal web page https://www.sallyscoffees.com
If you get a page not available then remove the "s" after HTTP
Phil P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2014, 11:55 AM   #15
Mark N.
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Ogden
Posts: 638
M.O.C. #13862
So, this makes me wonder: If one isn't running both A/C units at the same time, why would one need 50 amps ever?
Mark N. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2014, 01:54 PM   #16
Mark N.
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Ogden
Posts: 638
M.O.C. #13862
I ran a 30 amp outdoor receptacle to my house back patio. My '13 3400rl is plugged into it as I type this, using a dogbone adapter to my 50 A umbilical. Both A/C units are running non-stop right at this moment cooling my rig down from 97 degrees a while ago. So, it seems 30 A is plenty for BOTH A/C units at once. No electric water heater going of course. In fact, other than the inverter, there is nothing else running. Not sure how much wiggle room is left to power up anything beyond the A/C units
Mark N. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2014, 03:38 PM   #17
steelpony5555
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Copperas Cove
Posts: 1,426
M.O.C. #12096
Mine stays plugged into a 30 amp service with that dog bone and my 50 amp power cord at the house......and have run it on a 50 amp power cord then a dog bone then a 30 amp power cord to reach a distant power pole.....works fine... but I never tried to work both AC's on it like that......guess it would worked since I have run the AC and water heater on it,,,,
steelpony5555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2014, 11:53 PM   #18
Phil P
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Okeechobee
Posts: 2,150
M.O.C. #11206
Hi

The OP is talking about using a “pig tail” to reduce the 50 amp cord to a 30 amp cord then using a “pig tail” to go back to a 50 amp outlet.

A 30 amp cord is only 3 wires.

If the OP is using the adapters similar to the one I pictured then he would trip the circuit breaker on the supply end of the cords because the 30 amp adapter crosses Line 1 and Line 2. That would be a dead short to the 50 amp supply outlet.

If the OP is using a “pig tail” he has made up himself then he would have combined the neutral and the ground leads and uses the 30 amp cord natural wire for one of the lines in both “pig tails” at both ends of the 30 amp cord. This is not a good idea either.

Phil P
__________________
2009 Montana 3665RE
2009 Duramax 3500 DRW quad cab
personal web page https://www.sallyscoffees.com
If you get a page not available then remove the "s" after HTTP
Phil P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2014, 04:07 AM   #19
DQDick
Site Team
 
DQDick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wilsey
Posts: 18,091
M.O.C. #11455
Quote:
quote:Originally posted by Mark N.

So, this makes me wonder: If one isn't running both A/C units at the same time, why would one need 50 amps ever?
In our rigs, it's not just the AC. The frig, microwave, hot water heater and washer dryer (if you have one) can all cause the breaker to trip on the post if they come on in combination with an AC unit starting up. Not to mention the 20amps the big TV and Satellite system can draw. Having been there and done that managing your power use on 30amp can be a challenge in hot weather.
__________________
Dick, Joyce, Diego, Picatso and Gustav
2017 3720 RL, and 2013 HC 343RL
2017 3500 Dodge Maxi DRW 4X4, Pullrite Hitch, IS, Disk Brakes, 3rd AC, Winegard Traveler, Bathroom door mod, Dometic 320, couch for desk swap, etc.
DQDick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RV power cords targeted! Artemus Gordon Sitting around the Campfire 23 03-15-2014 06:24 AM
50 amp vs. 30 amp cords Slufoot733 Montana Problems, Problem Solving & Technical Help 22 06-22-2010 02:59 PM
30 amp power cords---25' or 50'?? David and Jo-Anna Montana Problems, Problem Solving & Technical Help 2 03-28-2007 02:00 AM
power cords Montana_4221 General Discussions about our Montanas 62 02-11-2006 03:22 AM
50 amp/30 amp cords? Montana_70 Montana Problems, Problem Solving & Technical Help 0 01-19-2004 02:58 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Montana RV, Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.