Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
 

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > General Discussions about our Montanas
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-03-2013, 03:07 AM   #1
softailcowboy
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: grass valley
Posts: 5
M.O.C. #13929
gfi outlets

I have a 2001 montana 2880 RL. The outlets in kitchen say protected by gfi and yet I can only find 1 GFI and it's in the bathroom. When I trip it it has nothing to do with the kitchen or my slider? I originally had power eveywhere but now my living room slider has no ac power @ lights or receptacles. it has DC power for 2 overhead lights so I am stumped about GFI
 
softailcowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 03:08 AM   #2
WaltBennett
Montana Master
 
WaltBennett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Hanover
Posts: 1,463
M.O.C. #13325
Did you look at your power panel?
__________________
WaltBennett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 03:34 AM   #3
K0LCB
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Arroyo City
Posts: 3,107
M.O.C. #13395
Some GFCI outlets are put in unusual locations.
K0LCB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 03:44 AM   #4
DQDick
Site Team
 
DQDick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wilsey
Posts: 18,690
M.O.C. #11455
Our kitchen one is actually above the counter almost in the living room so look around the edges of the kitchen also. The other thing I would check is the wiring in the junction box under the slide out. There are a number of threads, if you check the search function, where loose wires at that junction box caused similar problems.
__________________
Dick, Joyce, Diego, Picatso and Gustav
2017 3720 RL, and 2013 HC 343RL
Pullrite Hitch, IS, Disk Brakes, 3rd AC, Winegard Traveler, Bathroom door mod, Dometic 320, couch for desk swap, replaced chairs, sun screens, added awnings, etc.
DQDick is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 03:50 AM   #5
waynemoore
Montana Master
 
waynemoore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lake Havasu City AZ.
Posts: 1,812
M.O.C. #10552
Check the shore power cable. I had the wires come loose and and lost power to several outlets. Good luck.
__________________
Wayne and Ann Moore
2015 Ford F-350 King Ranch
Firestone air bags, bed saver.
Add 40 GAL tank in bed.
waynemoore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 04:13 AM   #6
softailcowboy
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: grass valley
Posts: 5
M.O.C. #13929
I have checked the power panel and made sure all connections are tight. I flipped all breakers 1 at a time and none were tripped. All fuses are 15 amp. I pulled every fuse and replaced with new. I have chkd the shore power cable. I got under the popout and the wiring goes to a junction box and I checked that. I have chkd. everywhere for a gfi outlet. I pulled microwave,couch,backside of island behind converter,outside plugs,and plugs in cabinets
softailcowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 04:49 AM   #7
Rondo
Site Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Omaha
Posts: 6,614
M.O.C. #7560
Check to see if there is a GFI in the slide out where your refrig plugs into. I'm not familiar with your floor plan but if it is like mine, there is a AC plug in the back of the refrig and is accessible from the outside by taking off one of the vent panels for the refrig. That's about the only thing I can possibly think of that may be causing your problem. Keep us informed of what you find out!

Rondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 05:06 AM   #8
racerjoe
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: silver creek
Posts: 1,507
M.O.C. #7770
I would check the junction under the slider like Dick has offered. It would not be a surprise to have a broken wire. Double check all breakers first then go under. The GFI issue either could be a GFI breaker which should be labeled or maybe do you have an outdoor GFI? There are only a couple in any trailer. Another thought,if you purchased the trailer used, maybe someone replaced the outlet with a standard one. Look at your outlets and see if any are different then the normal.
racerjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 06:16 AM   #9
Carl n Susan
Site Team
 
Carl n Susan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Carmichael - CA
Posts: 6,334
M.O.C. #4831
There seems to be *TWO* problems here.

1. The GFI outlet in the bathroom doesn't control the plug in the kitchen and no other GFI outlet is found. All outlets do have power and function normally.

2. 120V AC to the living room slider is dead. No 120V plugs or lights work.

For #1, I doubt the cost conscious (notice I avoided saying "cheap") manufacturer only used one GFI. So all protected outlets have to be on one circuit. I would assume the GFI outlet in the bathroom connects to the external outlet and then the Kitchen outlet. Of course a wiring diagram for a 13 year old coach would be nice. I would try turning off the circuit breakers one at a time and see if the outlets in question go off/on at the same time. It is not unlikely someone in the past modified the wiring and or removed a GFI.

For #2 the problem likely is in the junction box under the living room slide. Check for voltage there first.
__________________
Carl (n Susan)
There is more to life than fuel mileage.
2012 Montana 3700RL Big Sky Package towed by a 2015 Ford F350 6.7L PSD 4WD CC LWB

Carl n Susan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 07:04 AM   #10
rohrmann
Montana Master
 
rohrmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Box Elder
Posts: 4,121
M.O.C. #12947
Do you have an outside outlet on your unit? That may have a GFI in it, and maybe if there is one, it does the kitchen too. And, you did check the breakers in the panel, because they do make panel breakers that are GFI's also.
__________________
Bob & Becky
2012 3402RL
2012 Chevy 2500HD D/A CC 4WD
rohrmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 10:40 AM   #11
softailcowboy
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: grass valley
Posts: 5
M.O.C. #13929
I will be off tomorrow so I will be doing more chking. I will have an update tomorrow evening.I will be taking each circuit 1 @ a time and chking. tnx for all the input
softailcowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 04:12 PM   #12
Art-n-Marge
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Murrieta
Posts: 5,816
M.O.C. #9257
Send a message via MSN to Art-n-Marge Send a message via Yahoo to Art-n-Marge
For my floorplan, I have a GFCI in the Living Room. I believe the exterior patio outlet is connected to this. The other two GFCIs are in the Kitchen (near the sinks) and the bathroom (near the lavatory). Keep looking.

The GFCI should only be popping if water is involved (like it's raining and the outside circuit gets wet). If this is not the case, then I'd replace the GFCI because it may be flaky (I've had a couple go bad, but do it correctly, it's easy to mess up the wiring). Otherwise like others mention, check the power panel. Shutoff each circuit breaker, then turn on, each breaker if it's not obvious. Sometimes these buggers are reset but the switch is not thrown.
Art-n-Marge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2013, 01:16 PM   #13
jcurtis934
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Pensacola (mail forward service)
Posts: 3,194
M.O.C. #13740
As I read the original post, the author states that at FIRST...power was there in the living room and that the only GFI found in the trailer did NOT control the kitchen outlet. THEN after this, power was lost to the living room. This tells me that A) either someone replaced that kitchen GFI with a regular outlet...or Keystone wrongly put in a regular outlet instead of a GFI... B) There is another GFI somewhere for the kitchen... AS FOR the loss of power afterwards for the living room area...THIS sounds like someone mistakenly put another GFI on the same output feed of the bathroom GFI and this is what feeds the living area. Two GFI's in the same circuit COMPETE with really flakey results. Putting two GFI's on the same circuit is something that should never occur...but is also something that could happen when the installee doesn't have any idea about the dos and don'ts of GFI circuits. ALL bets are off if the original poster didn't clearly state the timing of both of these issue. Good luck in finding this one... John
__________________
2012 F350 6.7 L dually, 2013 3800RE with 6 pt leveling, Sumitomo 17.5" load range h tires, Samsung 18 cu ft residential fridge, 8k Morryde I.S. with disc brakes. Full timing since 2012.
jcurtis934 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Outlets NCFischers Additions & Improvements 19 07-19-2012 08:05 AM
Outlets? You need more outlets, or lighting? Ozz Additions & Improvements 1 11-23-2007 01:04 PM
extra outside outlets rubble express Additions & Improvements 9 09-19-2007 02:16 PM
adding AC outlets drjjj Additions & Improvements 23 02-06-2007 11:57 AM
outlets in basement wswebster What I'd like to say if... 0 01-20-2007 07:53 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Montana RV, Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.