Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > TIRES, Montana Tires
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-19-2014, 11:16 AM   #1
dpam
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Calgary
Posts: 350
M.O.C. #10119
TST -TPMS is a repeater required

I'm planning on ordering an TST 507 TPMS, but I don't know if I require a repeater or not. I tow with a GMC Crew cab with a 6.6ft box. Our 5th wheel is a 3150RL and I believe it is 34.4 ft long. I would appreciate hearing from anyone with a TST system with at least a 35ft trailer whether they feel a repeater is required or not.

I have a Hawks Head system without a repeater, but I'm not that happy with it, which is why I'd like to get an TST system.
__________________
DPAM
2017 GMC Denali diesel, crewcab, 4x4, regular box.
2010 Montana 3150RL- Moving to Montana Package , Hickory Edition Package, wet bolts
dpam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2014, 11:50 AM   #2
drsmart
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Dundas
Posts: 400
M.O.C. #10690
Should be no need for a repeater. We have the TST 510 senders on a 38 foot Montana. Our set came with a remote antenna that could be positioned at the rear window of the cab and we don't need it. Been using the TST system for about 6 years now. Their support is great if you have any problems.

Dave
drsmart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2014, 11:54 AM   #3
BB_TX
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: McKinney
Posts: 5,339
M.O.C. #6433
I have a Ford crew cab long bed and the Monte is listed as 34'-8". I do not have a repeater. There have been a couple of times when it temporarily lost contact with a sensor and would find it again a little later. I guess I am right on the threshold of needing a repeater. But it happens so rarely I have not bothered to add one.
__________________
Bill & Patricia

2007 3075RL
2012 F350 SRW CC LB FX4 6.7
BB_TX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2014, 12:07 PM   #4
drsmart
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Dundas
Posts: 400
M.O.C. #10690
Quote:
quote:Originally posted by BB_TX

I have a Ford crew cab long bed and the Monte is listed as 34'-8". I do not have a repeater. There have been a couple of times when it temporarily lost contact with a sensor and would find it again a little later. I guess I am right on the threshold of needing a repeater. But it happens so rarely I have not bothered to add one.
I have lost contact with one or two sensors at times but found I could walk right up to it, wait and not get a signal. It wasn't distance related in my case. The sensor just wasn't sending. I'd have to remove and re-install to trigger it. Even had one stop sending on the front of the truck. That's how I new it wasn't distance related.

Dave
drsmart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2014, 01:38 PM   #5
JandC
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Cape Coral
Posts: 2,290
M.O.C. #13272
I have had my flow through TPMS system on both my 2008 3400RL and now my 3725RL. The 3725 is about 39' long being towed by my F350. It actually never drops the signal. When I hook up in the morning it sometimes takes 5 or 6 minutes for my monitor to pick up all the sensors, but it never drops the signal after that. My screen is mounted on the left side of my dash/steering wheel area.
__________________
Previous: 2008 Montana 3400RL & 2014 3725RL
Current: Full Time in DP pulling 24' enclosed (Mini Cooper, Harley, Kayak)
JandC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2014, 02:03 PM   #6
K0LCB
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Los Fresnos
Posts: 3,098
M.O.C. #13395
I have a Ram 3500 crew cab and a 42.6 SOB. My 507's work well
K0LCB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2014, 02:14 PM   #7
Mudchief
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Paola
Posts: 5,676
M.O.C. #4961
Mine worked most of the time but would sometime quit on the back tires. I added the repeater and it solved the problem. Try it with out and see if it works. You can always add it like I did if you have problems.
__________________
Dennis & Linda Ward
Paola, Kansas
Montana 3735MK Legacy Edition
1200 watts of Solar
Mudchief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2014, 03:14 PM   #8
dpam
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Calgary
Posts: 350
M.O.C. #10119
Thank you for all the feedback. Based on what everyone said I'll buy the TST without a repeater and try it out.

Thank you
__________________
DPAM
2017 GMC Denali diesel, crewcab, 4x4, regular box.
2010 Montana 3150RL- Moving to Montana Package , Hickory Edition Package, wet bolts
dpam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2014, 03:23 PM   #9
DQDick
Montana Master
 
DQDick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wilsey
Posts: 16,909
M.O.C. #11455
That's the best way to go. We have a dodge maxi cab and as Dennis said I sometimes lost track to a tire or two so I added the repeater and no further problems. But many get by without one so try it first.
__________________
Dick, Joyce, Diego, Picatso and Gustav
2017 3720 RL, MorRyde pin box
2017 3500 Dodge Maxi DRW 4X4, Pullrite Hitch, IS, Disk Brakes, 3rd AC, Winegard Traveler, Bathroom door mod, Dometic 320, couch for desk swap, etc.
DQDick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2014, 12:58 AM   #10
NCFischers
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New Bern
Posts: 4,164
M.O.C. #8728
Send a message via Yahoo to NCFischers
I use the repeater they supplied because the trailer spare tire was not picking up. I mounted the repeater in the front storage area of the trailer.
NCFischers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2014, 02:54 AM   #11
jfaberna
Montana Master
 
jfaberna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Willow Spring, NC
Posts: 915
M.O.C. #13909
I have a 12v plug outlet in the front bedroom as a part of the new cellphone charger outlet they put in the 2014 3402RL. So I took the repeater and soldered a 12v plug onto it. I've never run without a repeater. I assumed I'd need it per this forum.
__________________
Jim & Martha Abernathy
2014 Montana 3402RL Level UP, Sailun S637's, TST 507, Renergy 100W solar
2014 Ram 3500 Laramieģ 4x2 diesel dually crew-cab 3.73 axle, Reese R20
jfaberna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2014, 03:44 AM   #12
knighton91
Established Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Chelsea
Posts: 32
M.O.C. #10855
I have a GMC HD2500 with the short bed and a Mountaineer that is about 36 feet. I do not have a repeater and have never had a problem. The people at TST are great. I broke the holder that attaches the monitor to the windshield. They sent me a free replacement and would not consider me paying for it. They are also very helpful with technical questions. I am very pleased with my system and it offers great piece of mind.
knighton91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2014, 10:40 AM   #13
jlb27537
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Depends on temps
Posts: 1,648
M.O.C. #13157
You will not need a repeater. If you double tow the 2nd trailer will drop out and you will need one then.

The repeater for the 507 and 510 are on different freq, so if you do get a repeater, be sure you indicate the system you have.

Jim
__________________

2012 Ram Laramie 3500 DRW 4x4 3.73 Tow Max Pkg B&W Companion 60 gal RDS aux fuel tank. 2014 Montana 3150RL, 2 A/C's, Leather, 6 Point Jacks, Splendede WD2100XC, Mor/ryde X-Factor, Duravis 250 tires with TST 507RV monitors. 2 x Honda EU2000's
jlb27537 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2014, 11:46 AM   #14
dieselguy
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Haysville
Posts: 3,598
M.O.C. #3085
I double tow and am right at 68' total. Always have a signal from the boat trailer, so I never considered a repeater.
dieselguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 04:51 AM   #15
jlb27537
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Depends on temps
Posts: 1,648
M.O.C. #13157
Quote:
quote:Originally posted by dieselguy

I double tow and am right at 68' total. Always have a signal from the boat trailer, so I never considered a repeater.
My right rear tire on the 2nd trailer will drop out maybe once a day. If DW holds the monitor up to the side window it will usually pick it back up. I ordered the repeater, and used it for almost a year. Saw no change. Called TST and they figured out they had sent me a 510 repeater and I have a 507 system. The 5th never drops out. TST is sending me the correct repeater. I am 66'6".

Their customer service is EXCELLENT.

Jim
jlb27537 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2014, 06:13 AM   #16
dieselguy
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Haysville
Posts: 3,598
M.O.C. #3085
Jim ... I think part of it depends on the TV and how close the unit is to the windshield and / or where on the windshield. I tried a wireless camera that stuck to the inside rear window of my fiver several years back. It never worked consistently ... company tried a couple of different things, but ended up refunding my money. They said some Keystone products were hard units to make their system work in. My neighbor, who owned a Cardinal had good luck with the same camera ... go figure.
dieselguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2014, 03:41 AM   #17
jlb27537
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Depends on temps
Posts: 1,648
M.O.C. #13157
Got my new repeater yesterday from TST. Was waiting for me when I got to the RGV. Now parked for 4 months. Was double towing with the golf cart on the trailer. First the rt rear dropped out. I usually have the monitor on the top center of the dash. I held it up behind the rt front seat. It re-acquired the signal and worked fine the rest of the trip. Then, 30 minutes later the left did the same thing. Held it up to the drivers window and again re-acquired the signal.

Maybe the truck, or something in the 5th makes the signal just weak enough that I need a repeater for my 2nd trailer. The 5th never drops the signal.

__________________

2012 Ram Laramie 3500 DRW 4x4 3.73 Tow Max Pkg B&W Companion 60 gal RDS aux fuel tank. 2014 Montana 3150RL, 2 A/C's, Leather, 6 Point Jacks, Splendede WD2100XC, Mor/ryde X-Factor, Duravis 250 tires with TST 507RV monitors. 2 x Honda EU2000's
jlb27537 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2014, 12:59 AM   #18
rames14
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Livermore
Posts: 3,381
M.O.C. #1920
It will be, as mentioned, vehicle and trailer dependent. I moved from the older style TST with a Chevy 3500 and our 365 Big Sky. I needed the wired antenna to get a signal. When I moved to the Ram, it didn't work and had to add the repeater. When they told me I had to buy the repeater, I asked why buying a new unit required more expense. They sent the repeater, no charge. You need to try it on your unit first. I always thought I could get by without a repeater, but I was wrong.
__________________
Ron and Terrie Ames with Sirius - MOC #1920
2015 Montana 3160 Legacy Package
2019 Ram 3500 Laramie Longhorn
4x4, SRW, SB, Mega Cab, Pullrite 2600 Hitch
rames14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connect TST TPMS Repeater to Battery? chris199 Repairs & Service 4 05-12-2015 09:29 AM
TST repeater DQDick Tow Vehicles & Towing 3 05-14-2013 04:35 PM
Wisdom required HOOK Let Us Entertain You 10 09-01-2012 10:11 AM
Doran 360RV TPMS v.s. PressurePro TPMS KTManiac General Discussions about our Montanas 8 02-23-2009 01:40 PM
When repairs are required.... stiles watson General Discussions about our Montanas 5 11-15-2007 02:19 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Montana RV, Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×