Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > Full Timing in your Montana
Click Here to Login

Old 05-02-2007, 07:40 AM   #1
madeforeachother
Montana Fan

M.O.C. #6748
winter fulltiming in Illinois

My wife and I have been fulltiming for almost six years now and have been in cold weather as low as 15 degrees with our rigs with no freeze ups. Our new '07 3400RL also has handled the cold weather very well, but we are going to stay in northern Illinois for a year starting this August and with the temps going down to 0 degees or less was wondering if anyone else has done this type of camping and if so could help with any suggestions. Would it be better to winterize the RV, store it and rent a furnished home?

madeforeachother is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2007, 08:19 AM   #2
campbud
Montana Master

M.O.C. #3142
I think I would winterize the RV, store it and rent. It seems to get bitter cold Dec thru Feb at least. You should be ok till the first of Dec...if it is a decent Fall.
campbud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2007, 09:13 AM   #3
Cat320
Montana Master

M.O.C. #5751
These rigs are very nice, but not intended for long term winter "camping." Staying for several months of a northern Illinois winter is not my idea of fun, and not something I'd be willing to do.
Cat320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2007, 11:20 AM   #4
Connorsmom
Montana Fan

M.O.C. #6592
SKOOBDO could sure give you some insight into winter camping!!! Hopefully she'll come along soon and give you some first hand advice.

Jan
Connorsmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2007, 04:36 PM   #5
bob n pam
Montana Master

M.O.C. #2121