Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
 

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > MOC Technical Forums > Solar, Charging Systems, Batteries and Electrical
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-01-2023, 09:36 AM   #1
lightninghill
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Location: Butler
Posts: 4
M.O.C. #32298
GFI, Microwave and Outlets

I have a 2022 Montana 3831MS. This morning I had the microwave, coffee maker and a pedestal heater running at the same time. The circuit blew. I checked all the breakers in the control panel - reset all - nothing was tripped. I checked the fuses in the panel, one does not indicate when the fuse it pulled. All others show a red indicator light when the fuse is pulled. This fuse in particular is still good. The GFI plug will not reset. Other outlets in the kitchen, living area do not operate. Since Montana doesn't provide an electrical diagram, my assumption is the microwave, GFI and several other outlets are on the same circuit. Has anyone else experienced this? My next steps will be to open the control panel beyond the CBs and see if there are more fuses, and then pull the GFI apart and see if its junk.
 
lightninghill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2023, 10:08 AM   #2
BB_TX
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: McKinney
Posts: 6,695
M.O.C. #6433
None of those devices operate from 12 vdc, so not affected by fuses.
Unplug all those devices and then see if you can reset the GFCI. If you still can’t reset it you may need to use a voltmeter to see if you have 120 vac to the GFCI outlet.
__________________
Bill & Patricia
BB_TX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2023, 10:09 AM   #3
Cat320
Montana Master
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location:
Posts: 1,607
M.O.C. #5751
If you have an inverter, check it's circuit breaker.
Cat320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2023, 10:15 AM   #4
Carl n Susan
Site Team
 
Carl n Susan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Carmichael - CA
Posts: 6,599
M.O.C. #4831
What do you mean by the circuit blew? The microwave is usually on its own, non-GFCI, breaker. The other devices sound like kitchen appliances that would be plugged into the kitchen GFCI circuit. So there should be two circuits interrupted which implies a overload of the shore power.

If the a GFCI will NOT reset it means it has no power. You need to find the the upstream one and ensure it is operable.

The fuses in the fuse panel have no bearing on the AC circuits. Fuses protect 12V DC, circuit breakers protect 120V AC.

You reset all the CBs so they should be good (and not partially tripped just to fool you). Is the 120V on both side of the breaker feeding the kitchen and/or the microwave?
__________________
Carl (n Susan)
There is more to life than fuel mileage.
2012 Montana 3700RL Big Sky Package towed by a 2015 Ford F350 6.7L PSD 4WD CC LWB

Carl n Susan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2023, 10:17 AM   #5
BB_TX
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: McKinney
Posts: 6,695
M.O.C. #6433
As a side note, the red blown fuse indicator will not illuminate unless there is some device currently connected to that fuse. The LED requires a path to ground to light up, and that path is thru the connected device. When the fuse is good there is no voltage difference across the LED and it does not light up. When the fuse is blown there is a voltage difference across the LED (and hence current flow thru it) and it does light up.
__________________
Bill & Patricia
BB_TX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2023, 12:10 PM   #6
lightninghill
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Location: Butler
Posts: 4
M.O.C. #32298
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl n Susan View Post
What do you mean by the circuit blew? The microwave is usually on its own, non-GFCI, breaker. The other devices sound like kitchen appliances that would be plugged into the kitchen GFCI circuit. So there should be two circuits interrupted which implies a overload of the shore power.

If the a GFCI will NOT reset it means it has no power. You need to find the the upstream one and ensure it is operable.

The fuses in the fuse panel have no bearing on the AC circuits. Fuses protect 12V DC, circuit breakers protect 120V AC.

You reset all the CBs so they should be good (and not partially tripped just to fool you). Is the 120V on both side of the breaker feeding the kitchen and/or the microwave?
Thank you. Any idea where the upstream GFI would be? I do not have another in the bathroom or other area inside the trailer.
lightninghill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2023, 01:57 PM   #7
twindman
Montana Master
 
twindman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Mesa az
Posts: 2,638
M.O.C. #5651
There may be a GFI in the outside outlet. Not sure what else it controls.
__________________

Tom and Gail
2013 Mountaineer 362
2012 Silverado 2500
twindman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2023, 06:31 PM   #8
BB_TX
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: McKinney
Posts: 6,695
M.O.C. #6433
Regarding the outlet(s) that do not work. Does it (they) have test and reset push buttons on it? Or is it a standard looking outlet with a “GFCI Protected” label on it? If the latter it means that outlet is a standard outlet wired from a true GFCI outlet (one with push buttons) located somewhere else.

Another possibility is the wire connections in the back of the outlet. Unless they have changed, the outlets have press connections that cut into the wire when you press the outlet into a back plate. A cheap, fast, and easy wiring method. And did I say cheap? Works, but not a highly reliable wire connection method.
__________________
Bill & Patricia
BB_TX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2023, 06:45 PM   #9
Foldbak
Montana Master
 
Foldbak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Location: Shingle Springs
Posts: 1,128
M.O.C. #30417
Like Carl said the microwave is on it's own circuit. I don't think it's a GFI problem. Did you check the pedestal power? Hot on both legs?
__________________
Tony & Donna
2022 Montana High Country 295RL, Solar Flex 400, Onan 3600 LPG, 2000 Dimensions inverter
2020 GMC Denali 2500 6.6 Duramax, Demco 21K Auto Slide
Foldbak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2023, 02:19 PM   #10
firestation12
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Mesa
Posts: 177
M.O.C. #24588
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foldbak View Post
Like Carl said the microwave is on it's own circuit. I don't think it's a GFI problem. Did you check the pedestal power? Hot on both legs?

This is my first instinct, check the power at the pedestal. you can also check both sides of the 50 amp 2 pole breaker in your rv's breaker panel. There should be 240 volts.
firestation12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2023, 04:52 PM   #11
chessera2527
Established Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Volant
Posts: 40
M.O.C. #26178
GFCI will go bad i have replaced a few over the years one on the outside of my monty, if you know how to check the circuit behind the GFCI then you can tell what you have and do not have , if not get an electrician that does know
chessera2527 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2023, 05:08 PM   #12
wed
Montana Fan
 
wed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: woodstock
Posts: 463
M.O.C. #8174
Like said unplug and start with everything working your way through them
__________________
Ed
Montana Master
Woodstock Ga
2020 3931 FB Legacy
wed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2023, 06:09 PM   #13
krobb
Established Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Pomfret
Posts: 15
M.O.C. #18155
Check basement GFCI also. It may be the culprit!
krobb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2023, 07:20 PM   #14
TheEaglesNest
New Member
 
TheEaglesNest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2023
Location: New Braunfels
Posts: 5
M.O.C. #32186
Agree with krobb. We had the same issue and discovered we had a second GFCI located in the basement.
TheEaglesNest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2023, 07:44 PM   #15
Daryles
Montana Master
 
Daryles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Alton
Posts: 2,136
M.O.C. #24086
A GFIC will not reset IF...
it is bad. OR... You have no power to it.
You may be missing one of your two 50A legs from the pedistal.
I would start there and work your way forward.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Electrical RV pedistal voltage.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	118.0 KB
ID:	14023  
Daryles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical issue, fuses, gfi, microwave

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Montana RV, Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.