Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > Tow Vehicles & Towing
Click Here to Login

Old 07-18-2021, 05:12 PM   #1
BigEli

M.O.C. #29230
6.7l Transmission

I'm new to towing and started a move from Ft. Drum, NY to AZ. First day of stravel was smooth, but the second day my 2019 F250 6.7l started to show my transmission temperature getting up to 223. I stopped and ran the vehicle and it would drop to 190, but once I got o the highway after a few miles it would be back up to 221 to 223. I checked the transmission levels and it was full. I also has some guys at Valvoline check under the truck for leaks. I have placed myself at the Ford dealership in Joplin MISSOURI till the morning to have them look at it. Just wish I didn't have to drive so far still to be wasting daylight. Any advice would be great.thanks

BigEli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2021, 05:25 PM   #2
kowbra
Montana Master

M.O.C. #26690
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigEli View Post
I'm new to towing and started a move from Ft. Drum, NY to AZ. First day of stravel was smooth, but the second day my 2019 F250 6.7l started to show my transmission temperature getting up to 223. I stopped and ran the vehicle and it would drop to 190, but once I got o the highway after a few miles it would be back up to 221 to 223. I checked the transmission levels and it was full. I also has some guys at Valvoline check under the truck for leaks. I have placed myself at the Ford dealership in Joplin MISSOURI till the morning to have them look at it. Just wish I didn't have to drive so far still to be wasting daylight. Any advice would be great.thanks

What were the outside air temps? And, were you pulling in hills? What is the loaded weight of your trailer?