Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > Tow Vehicles & Towing
Click Here to Login

Old 12-15-2004, 03:39 PM   #1
Montana_2591
Established Member

M.O.C. #2591
Fifth wheel hitches?

Ok, I'm very new to this! We bought our trailer a couple of weeks ago, we did the walk-through last week, and I just bought the truck.
F-350 Crew cab, 7.30 Diesel long bed. Now I need to buy a hitch.
Our pride and joy is a 318BHS. I could do with a few suggestions about what to buy, and how much should it cost? I'm in Phoenix,Az who should I buy from?

Thanks in advance,

Michael

Montana_2591 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2004, 05:25 PM   #2
Dave e Victoria
Montana Master

M.O.C. #635
Michael,
For the long bed you most likely do not need any kind of slider (ie one that slides back to avoid trailer interference with the cab in tight turns). Always buy a hitch that tilts side to side as well as fore and aft. Beyond that, your choice is how the hitch mounts to the bed. The cheaper version has rails that run across the bed and remain there when the hitch is removed. More expensve versions have mounting below the bed and leave the bed flat when the hitch is removed. You may also want to look at the way the pin locking works. Again, it is a matter of choices.

My suggestion is to visit Camping world, Quality bumper and one or more of the hitch installers including U-Haul. Ask questions, listen to the pitches. Then, before you buy, ask about experience with the one you are zeroing in on.

One other point. Like everything else these days, there are very few manufacturers of hitches but they are distributed under a lot of brand names. Find out who the manufacturer is when comparing prices.