Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > General Discussions about our Montanas
Click Here to Login

Old 02-19-2006, 08:47 AM   #1
Wrenchtraveller
Montana Master

M.O.C. #4890
Quick charge feature on 55 amp convertor.

I was reading some wiring problems that some people have had over on the problem forum so I just spent an hour going over my 06 2955RL. I am not an electrician by trade but I wired the house I am living in 28 years ago and we are both still here so I did something right.

Anyway I am happy to say, everything I could see looked pretty well done and places where the wires went through the metal wall were all protected and that was one of the problems someone had with wire rubbing. I could see none of that.

I did notice that the 55 amp convertor has a jack in it for quick charging batteries. This jack looks like a heavy duty phone plug and a label beside it says to only leave the cord plugged in while quick charging. Has anyone ever used this feature? I looked in all the literature that came with my Montana and there is no mention of this 55 amp convertor which is very quiet and does not hum like some convertors I have had in other RVs.

Wrenchtraveller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2006, 09:04 AM   #2
OntMont
Montana Master

M.O.C. #122
If you have the same Iota converter that we have, there is a mention of it in the little owners manual that should come with it. I read about it too, and decided it was something that I wanted. I ordered one over the internet, but it has not arrived yet. I'll post some more when it comes.
OntMont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2006, 01:27 PM   #3
Ishler
Montana Master

M.O.C. #1328