Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > General Discussions about our Montanas
Click Here to Login

Old 03-14-2011, 04:23 PM   #1
seanjackmc
Seasoned Camper

M.O.C. #11166
Adjisting Pinbox height??

When my monty is hooked up tp my truck I notice it seems as if the monty is angles upwards towards the truck bed. Almost as if the its traveling up hill. Its not a problem pulling but I noticed when backing into my driveway up a curb my spare tire hits due to the angle the trailer is at. So I would like to know if I can adjust my pinbox to help the monty sit more level in turn raising the back end. Hope that makes sense. Also I just traded in for a 2011 f 350. My old truck was a 250. So the box will be even higher, by an inch or two creating a steeper angle in the trailer.
Im still new to 5th wheels so sorry if this question is stupid.
STM

seanjackmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 04:35 PM   #2
BB_TX
Montana Master

M.O.C. #6433
You just need to be aware of the bed rail clearance. 6" is typically the minimum acceptable clearance most feel is needed. If you have more than 6" clearance now, you could lower the hitch (assuming it can be lowered) until you are down to 6" clearance. If you are already at 6" or less, I would not lower it any more as you could easily hit the side rails on uneven terrain.
BB_TX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 05:20 PM   #3
exav8tr
Montana Master

M.O.C. #6333