Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
 

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > General Discussions about our Montanas
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-17-2023, 05:38 AM   #1
suny07
Montana Fan
 
suny07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 321
M.O.C. #21337
Thermostat on InCommand way off

Hello,

We just got our new Montana.
Unfortunately it came with the InCommand system which I never wanted but could not avoid this time.
Now we have the first issue with it.

The rear Temperature shows always way below the actual Temperatur.
Starting the Furnace or the AC has the effect that the Temperature changes accordingly, but never develops to the actual Temperature.
It also stays below the setting of the Furnace so that you will have a running furnace all night.

We changed the Temperature sensor already the day after the purchase with no effect.
With the dealer where we purchased it we tried a 3 or 4 hour troubleshooting with out any findings.

As we purchased 800mls away from home we finally had to head back home and now I am trying to deal with it with my local dealer’s service center.

Does anyone had a similar case where he could give some pointers and direction what to search for?

Thanks,
Mike

Picture for attention
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2783.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	231.8 KB
ID:	15963  
 
__________________
Montana 3123RL Legacy
sold: Montana HC 305RL
RAM 3500 Mega Cab Cummins Diesel
suny07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2023, 07:12 AM   #2
Kyle and Lisa
Montana Master
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: livingston,tx
Posts: 547
M.O.C. #21685
Dometic sent us two new thermostats and they are no different in temp differential than the original ones they are 4-5 degrees off, we just compensate for the difference.
Kyle and Lisa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2023, 07:42 AM   #3
ChuckS
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Mountain Home
Posts: 801
M.O.C. #20949
If the remote temp sensor is mounted such that it is setting inside the hole in the wall where the two wire lead comes thru you will get erroneous temps read from that Zone sensor.

Typically the sensor is then reading the temp Inside the wall instead of the ambient temp within the living space of the Zone area its mounted in..

I would look at that and if that sensor can be moved our of the wall some do that as well as seal the backside area of that wall.. This will allow the sensor to "Sense" the actual inside air temp instead of the air temp inside the wall.
** which would be colder during wintertime and hotter in summer time**

I would also take the time to download the Global connect PDFs for your version of In Command from https://in-command.net/in-command-w-global-connect/

** Look at the manual section in the above link and DL the ones for your version of Global Connect..

You will need some of the info sooner or later...
ChuckS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2023, 08:55 AM   #4
Mikendebbie
Montana Master
 
Mikendebbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Austin
Posts: 2,287
M.O.C. #21044
I would make a call...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2023-11-17_08-55-13.png
Views:	8
Size:	29.9 KB
ID:	15964  
__________________
MikenDebbie Aggie Ď77 in the sticks near Austin TX
2019 Chevy 3500 High Country DRW
2018 Montana 3921FB
Aussie Gus + Texas Heeler Jimmy
Mikendebbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2023, 03:45 PM   #5
DutchmenSport
Montana Master
 
DutchmenSport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Anderson
Posts: 2,405
M.O.C. #22835
I've had my Montana High Country for 5 years now and in all those 5 years there are no 2 places anywhere in my camper with the same temperature. I have 1 furnace, 41 foot long fifth wheel. The upper level is always hotter than the lower level, and mine is a front living model with no wall between upper and lower level. The thermostat is, pretty much, in the middle of the trailer on an inside wall (Dometic), no "In-Command" system on mine. And I'm pretty sure the temperature sensor is at my Dometic thermostat on the wall. I keep an inside - outside thermometer right next to the thermostat so I know what the true temperture is at that spot. And, the two temperatures are always different. The Dometic thermostat always has to be set higher than the actual temperature based on the separate thermometer right next to it. Add the electric fire place and a space heater or two and the temps throughout the camper are even more bizarre different. Let's not even go there with the air conditioner differences ... and those differences are right at the ceiling vents with 2 AC's, one in the front, one in the back. We've learned how to compensate, pretty much, at ever square inch inside the camper.

What causes the differences in temps throughout the camper? Drafts, windows, thin insulation, sun shining on one side of the camper and not the other, one half of the trailer under trees and the other end in the sun, windows, shades up or shades down, exhaust fans turned on in the bathroom or kitchen, all a number of factors.

"Kentucky windage" is what you have to use in your camper when it comes to heat and cooling:

Kentucky windage:
Summarizer
Kentucky windage is a shooting technique used by marksmen to compensate for bullet drop and wind drift.0 It involves applying a horizontal adjustment of the point of aim for wind without the use of any physical or mechanical adjustments on the weapon.2 The technique was first used by hunters in Kentucky and has since spread to other parts of the world. It involves estimating the amount of drop and drift, and adjusting the aim accordingly.0 In work-life, Kentucky windage is a correction made by adjusting where you aim rather than adjusting the rifle. It involves intentionally overestimating the amount of slack you bake into your work rhythm.1
__________________
Who you are right now is a sum total off all you use to be.
2019 Montana High Country 375FL
2014 Chevy Silverado Duramax, 6.6L Dually
DutchmenSport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2023, 11:21 PM   #6
M&M
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Gulfport
Posts: 102
M.O.C. #27628
I agree with ChuckS that a possible problem is the sensor is measuring the temperature in the wall. I worked on insulating behind both in ours and it definitely improved the accuracy. I recommend you start with that. How to do that can be a challenge if you canít easily access behind them.
__________________
2021 Montana 3231CK, Legacy, Super Solar Flex, Dual Pane Windows, Slide-out Awnings
2021 Dodge RAM 3500 4x4 Limited 6.7 HO DRW, Trailer TPMS, B&W Companion Hitch
M&M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2023, 03:24 PM   #7
rames14
Montana Master
 
rames14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Livermore
Posts: 5,109
M.O.C. #1920
SUNY, have you contacted ASA? Mike recommended it earlier. They are very helpful. As for In-Command, everyone is different. We love ours. It allows me to control the RV anywhere I am at, provides a method for controlling and monitoring RV temps and in the winter I can change settings when the wife says it’s too cold from under the covers. Everyone has different wants and needs. Of course our sticks and bricks was built with home automation.
__________________
Ron and Terrie Ames - MOC #1920/KF0NTA
2021Montana 3230CK Super Solar Legacy Package
2021 Ram 3500 Laramie Longhorn, BIM Charging
4x4, SRW, LB, Crew Cab, Pullrite 3900 Hitch
rames14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2023, 04:23 AM   #8
suny07
Montana Fan
 
suny07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 321
M.O.C. #21337
Quote:
Originally Posted by rames14 View Post
SUNY, have you contacted ASA? Mike recommended it earlier. They are very helpful. As for In-Command, everyone is different. We love ours. It allows me to control the RV anywhere I am at, provides a method for controlling and monitoring RV temps and in the winter I can change settings when the wife says itís too cold from under the covers. Everyone has different wants and needs. Of course our sticks and bricks was built with home automation.
Not yet. Tried to find mobile services who can handle Incommand and ended up seeing a dealer on Saturday.
I try to give them a call this week.

Thanks, Mike
__________________
Montana 3123RL Legacy
sold: Montana HC 305RL
RAM 3500 Mega Cab Cummins Diesel
suny07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2023, 02:27 PM   #9
Bourbon County
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Location: Cynthiana
Posts: 170
M.O.C. #30449
You didn't mention what brand AC you have. There are a couple on the market; I'm thinking Coleman and Furrion that have a temp sensor mounted in the return air side of the unit that is actually used for control. The wall mount or remote thermostat have a sensor that are basically just for display purposes, not control of the unit. It's quite possible that your InCommand system isn't really in command of this.

Another inherent problem with thermostats in RVs is the location. Ideally, it should be mounted on an interior wall out of line of sight from a window or exterior door to prevent outdoor drafts and any solar gain from the sun shining through a window. It should also be in an area of air movement, like near a return. If you look around, there are very limited if any places in an RV that are ideal. The age old standard is to mount the stat at 5' above floor level; your nose is the most temperature sensitive part of your body.

I'm doubtful you will ever get an accurate solution for this, but I would absolutely wear that dealer out as long as you're under warranty.
Bourbon County is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2023, 04:44 AM   #10
suny07
Montana Fan
 
suny07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 321
M.O.C. #21337
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bourbon County View Post
You didn't mention what brand AC you have. There are a couple on the market; I'm thinking Coleman and Furrion that have a temp sensor mounted in the return air side of the unit that is actually used for control. The wall mount or remote thermostat have a sensor that are basically just for display purposes, not control of the unit. It's quite possible that your InCommand system isn't really in command of this.

Another inherent problem with thermostats in RVs is the location. Ideally, it should be mounted on an interior wall out of line of sight from a window or exterior door to prevent outdoor drafts and any solar gain from the sun shining through a window. It should also be in an area of air movement, like near a return. If you look around, there are very limited if any places in an RV that are ideal. The age old standard is to mount the stat at 5' above floor level; your nose is the most temperature sensitive part of your body.

I'm doubtful you will ever get an accurate solution for this, but I would absolutely wear that dealer out as long as you're under warranty.
AC brand is Coleman, Sensor are next to the pantry.

The issue is not the "typical 2-few degrees differences. We had that in our old camper and changed the thermostat/controler location and eventually got the micro air thermostat installed.

The sensor gives a reading of e.g. 45 when it should be 70. Then starting AC or Furnace it will eventually climb to let's say its set to 72 for furnace. Then after switching of furnace the reading drops in under 1 minute back down to 54 or so.

It seems to be very rare as I can google only a few cases which mostly also seem to be older.

Thanks,
Mike
__________________
Montana 3123RL Legacy
sold: Montana HC 305RL
RAM 3500 Mega Cab Cummins Diesel
suny07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2023, 09:34 AM   #11
ChuckS
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Mountain Home
Posts: 801
M.O.C. #20949
If you have a multimeter and basic skill sets simply remove the two prong plug on that Zone Gateway up under the roof AC unit and measure the resistance reading across the removed plug that goes to the remote temp sensor.. You will read a resistance that when compared to a chart gives you an expected temp reading versus the resistance read...

Remote Temp sensors for the overhead AC units Do In Fact control the on/off operation of the AC units... thats why they are there..

If the ohm reading is way off compared to the actual temp in the area where the remote temp sensor is at then the sensor is out of tolerance
ChuckS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2023, 07:30 PM   #12
InspectorCurt
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2023
Location: Souix Fall
Posts: 4
M.O.C. #33433
For starters, get w/ folks at ASA,they can walk you through alot on phone.Make sure system has latest software update.Ours didn't even read a temp,had to disconnect both 240(2x120) and 12v,system reset itself.We have same model,don't set anything in front of sensor or let sun from door shine on it..Hope this helps
InspectorCurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Montana RV, Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.