Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
 

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > General Discussions about our Montanas
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-10-2021, 03:26 PM   #1
scuba dude
Montana Fan
 
scuba dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Park Hill
Posts: 115
M.O.C. #10841
Little help with finding cable for installing third ac.

Installing third ac in my 2020 3813 in the kitchen maxair vent. It is per wired the electric cable is there. What I am going to do is wire it where I can run it seperate. I am trying to locate the end of the cable that is in the basement area. I am going to hook it up where I can plug a heavy duty extension cord and run it off the 20 amp breaker in the pedistal. That way I can run two ac when hooked up to a 30 amp spot. The other two ac are hooked to 20 amp breakers and marked but no sign of cable for third ac. Anyone have any idea.
 
scuba dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2021, 08:09 AM   #2
DQDick
Site Team
 
DQDick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wilsey
Posts: 18,092
M.O.C. #11455
On our 2017 it went to a controler that only allowed it to run when the bedroom AC shut off. On that rig the controler was behind the furnace return air vent.
__________________
Dick, Joyce, Diego, Picatso and Gustav
2017 3720 RL, and 2013 HC 343RL
2017 3500 Dodge Maxi DRW 4X4, Pullrite Hitch, IS, Disk Brakes, 3rd AC, Winegard Traveler, Bathroom door mod, Dometic 320, couch for desk swap, etc.
DQDick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2021, 09:35 AM   #3
Ram Montana High Country
Montana Master
 
Ram Montana High Country's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: POINTBLANK
Posts: 1,336
M.O.C. #19944
My third is wired to a separate outside. Power and control wires run across ceiling, cover up it is not noticed. I always hook mine up to the 30A receptical with a 30A male/15A female.
__________________
RAM 19' DRW 3500 Crew LB / 2020 373RD HC
MOPEKA Tank Monitor / Furrion Side&Rear Cameras
Slide Toppers / EMS-HW50C / Sailun 85's
3rd AC / Dometic 320
Ram Montana High Country is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2021, 07:08 AM   #4
scuba dude
Montana Fan
 
scuba dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Park Hill
Posts: 115
M.O.C. #10841
You were right on the button Dick. It was in the junction box behind breaker box. It had a black piece of tape wraped around it. I used the breaker for dryer and ran a wire from it to the top of the wet bay and installed a male plug to it. From that point I can run a heavy duty extension cord to the 20 amp plug in the pedestal. I am in business for running two AC units when hooked up to a 30 amp sopt
scuba dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2021, 08:44 AM   #5
DQDick
Site Team
 
DQDick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wilsey
Posts: 18,092
M.O.C. #11455
I did mine just a little different to give me more choices. I took it into the basement and put a 30amp breaker box on the wall. I then went out the outer wall next to the convenience center and put a 30amp connection there so it's weather proof. That way I can use a 30amp cord either with or without a 20amp dog bone and also use a surge protector. That way I can use the 30amp plug in a 50amp site or a 20amp plug in the 30amp site.
__________________
Dick, Joyce, Diego, Picatso and Gustav
2017 3720 RL, and 2013 HC 343RL
2017 3500 Dodge Maxi DRW 4X4, Pullrite Hitch, IS, Disk Brakes, 3rd AC, Winegard Traveler, Bathroom door mod, Dometic 320, couch for desk swap, etc.
DQDick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 11:36 AM   #6
scuba dude
Montana Fan
 
scuba dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Park Hill
Posts: 115
M.O.C. #10841
I did not specify but the plug I put on was a 30 amp male and the extension cord is a 20 foot 30 amp. I was thinking the same thing. I just use a 30 to 20 adaptor. I just could not force myself or did not have enough confidence in myself to drill a hole that big in the side of my camper so I just drilled a small hole inside the wet bay. Out of sight.
scuba dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Montana RV, Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.