Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
 

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > MOC Technical Forums > Repairs & Service
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-29-2021, 03:38 PM   #1
DTH
Established Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Dover
Posts: 36
M.O.C. #26146
Low voltage on one leg

Just got to our destination and in hot weather.
Front AC initially ran but then stopped. Pedestal voltage good on both legs. Went to breaker panel inside. One side good one low. 103 volts. Making sure I am not operating anything on that leg.

I am suspecting either the power cord reel or the built in surge suppressor. Canít access the cord reel and canít find the surge.

Any other ideas to check?
 
__________________
2021 Ram 3500 DRW
2020 3121 RL Legacy
DTH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2021, 03:42 PM   #2
Daryles
Montana Master
 
Daryles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Alton
Posts: 1,220
M.O.C. #24086
Maybe check the pins on the cable? Make sure they are clean and straight?
Same on the Rig side.
Cycle your interior 50A breakers.
__________________
Daryl and Marianne,
2019 3130re 20th Anniversary Edition
2016 F350 Lariat
Daryles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2021, 04:13 PM   #3
DTH
Established Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Dover
Posts: 36
M.O.C. #26146
Thanks. Have cycled and checked all breakers. Have checked ped several times. Checked power cord with external source. Both seem ok but cannot access cord at reel without disassembly. Reading at inside breaker panel, all looks good with ground and neutral. I suspect a problem with the reel brushes or contacts but access is a big issue.
__________________
2021 Ram 3500 DRW
2020 3121 RL Legacy
DTH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2021, 06:00 PM   #4
Vet4jdc
Montana Fan
 
Vet4jdc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 194
M.O.C. #23051
Check your connection at the cord to the camper. I have needed to rotate it slightly to get a good connection for both legs.
__________________
2019 Montana High Country 331RL
2017 Ford F250 Super Duty, 6.7 PSD
Vet4jdc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2021, 07:55 PM   #5
Ram Montana High Country
Montana Master
 
Ram Montana High Country's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: POINTBLANK
Posts: 1,466
M.O.C. #19944
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vet4jdc View Post
Check your connection at the cord to the camper. I have needed to rotate it slightly to get a good connection for both legs.
OP said he has a "Reel" system - there is no connection to make at each campsite on the trailer side. It's all buried and not easily accessible as stated.
__________________
RAM 16' DRW 3500 Crew LB / 2020 373RD HC
MOPEKA Tank Monitor / Furrion Side&Rear Cameras
Slide Toppers / EMS-HW50C / Sailun 85's
3rd AC / Dometic 320
Ram Montana High Country is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2021, 08:00 PM   #6
Ram Montana High Country
Montana Master
 
Ram Montana High Country's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: POINTBLANK
Posts: 1,466
M.O.C. #19944
Quote:
Originally Posted by DTH View Post
Just got to our destination and in hot weather.
Front AC initially ran but then stopped. Pedestal voltage good on both legs. Went to breaker panel inside. One side good one low. 103 volts. Making sure I am not operating anything on that leg.

I am suspecting either the power cord reel or the built in surge suppressor. Canít access the cord reel and canít find the surge.

Any other ideas to check?
Are both of your AC's wired on the same leg? I have the Progressive EMS hardwired. It would shut off at 104.
__________________
RAM 16' DRW 3500 Crew LB / 2020 373RD HC
MOPEKA Tank Monitor / Furrion Side&Rear Cameras
Slide Toppers / EMS-HW50C / Sailun 85's
3rd AC / Dometic 320
Ram Montana High Country is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2021, 08:09 PM   #7
DTH
Established Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Dover
Posts: 36
M.O.C. #26146
Each AC is on a different leg. Front is the one not working.
__________________
2021 Ram 3500 DRW
2020 3121 RL Legacy
DTH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2021, 09:24 PM   #8
Ram Montana High Country
Montana Master
 
Ram Montana High Country's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: POINTBLANK
Posts: 1,466
M.O.C. #19944
Quote:
Originally Posted by DTH View Post
Each AC is on a different leg. Front is the one not working.
your lucky, mine are on one
__________________
RAM 16' DRW 3500 Crew LB / 2020 373RD HC
MOPEKA Tank Monitor / Furrion Side&Rear Cameras
Slide Toppers / EMS-HW50C / Sailun 85's
3rd AC / Dometic 320
Ram Montana High Country is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2021, 11:28 PM   #9
rohrmann
Montana Master
 
rohrmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Box Elder
Posts: 3,768
M.O.C. #12947
Even though you measure good voltage at the pedestal without any load, the applied load may drop the voltage on the problem leg due to a bad connection inside the panel. If you have not had a problem prior to arriving at this location, it is likely to be in the pedestal.
__________________
Bob & Becky
2012 3402RL
2012 Chevy 2500HD D/A CC 4WD
rohrmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2021, 07:42 AM   #10
DTH
Established Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Dover
Posts: 36
M.O.C. #26146
Bob,
Very good point. I have not had any issues previously. I will talk o the park and see if they can check.
I appreciate everyoneís assistance.
__________________
2021 Ram 3500 DRW
2020 3121 RL Legacy
DTH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2021, 08:34 AM   #11
jimcol
Montana Master
 
jimcol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kansas City, Missouri
Posts: 2,283
M.O.C. #7992
Send a message via AIM to jimcol Send a message via MSN to jimcol
Following Bob's advice, if you can reach another pedestal I'd try plugging in to it.
__________________
2006 3000RK
2009 Ram 2500
jimcol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2021, 05:21 PM   #12
ShaneGreen
Established Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Gassville
Posts: 29
M.O.C. #22218
Correct me if I'm wrong, but don't those cord reels use a brush and commutator system? If so, jog it back and fourth a few time. If a brush stopped at a corroded area or if it's slightly skewed in it's holder you won't get full contact.
__________________
2018 Montana High Country 331RL,
2011 Dodge Ram 3500 dually, Firestone air bags, Anderson Ultimate Hitch
ShaneGreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2021, 06:55 PM   #13
DTH
Established Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Dover
Posts: 36
M.O.C. #26146
Update on problem.

Finally killed the power and unplugged from the pedestal. Started re checking each point that I could access. I checked the tightness of each wire in the breaker panel and checked the tightness of each breaker in its location. Left breakers off. Turned on at the pedestal then went in and turned each breaker and verified voltage at each breaker. All checked good at that point. Also move the reel several times to look at that issue. Started turning things back on and all worked. Not sure exactly what changed but it worked.
Still concerned about the cord reel and the surge suppressor. Now back home I can continue to investigate.
Thanks to all for your help.
__________________
2021 Ram 3500 DRW
2020 3121 RL Legacy
DTH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2021, 05:11 AM   #14
Bstarr
Established Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Carthage
Posts: 12
M.O.C. #26958
Low voltage

I had the same thing happen to me. I also had the issue of my batteries not charging. Long story short is my rig is wired for a generator but I donít have one. Anyway the transfer switch was bad and having trouble making contact. All worked fine on power from my truck but when put on shore power I had all those issues. I checked power from outside power source to my breaker. My breaker only showed power to one leg. So check yer transfer switch if you have one. Good luck
Bstarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2021, 11:07 AM   #15
Bob and Jeannette
Montana Fan
 
Bob and Jeannette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Orlando
Posts: 287
M.O.C. #22589
Quote:
Originally Posted by rohrmann View Post
Even though you measure good voltage at the pedestal without any load, the applied load may drop the voltage on the problem leg due to a bad connection inside the panel. If you have not had a problem prior to arriving at this location, it is likely to be in the pedestal.
Good call! I would see if it works at your next stop.
__________________
2020 Montana 3813ms legacy w/Paint
2017 Ram 3500 4X4 DRW Aisin Curt Q-25
Bob and Jeannette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2021, 12:26 PM   #16
Bstarr
Established Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Carthage
Posts: 12
M.O.C. #26958
Low voltage

That may not be so. If you have good volts prior to yer our next stop and hookup and you have issues does not meant it the power from the pole outside like I said my transfer switch was intermittent so it really made it difficult to troubleshoot properly. Good luck.
Bstarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Montana RV, Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.