Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > MOC Technical Forums > Montana Problems, Problem Solving & Technical Help
Click Here to Login

Old 12-14-2008, 04:38 AM   #1
snfexpress
Montana Master

M.O.C. #5140
Propane flow on water heater

Okay, another question - how do I adjust the propane flow on the water heater? It is burning propane, but it is lackluster and I can smell that it is not burning all of the fuel.

Thanks,

snfexpress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 05:53 AM   #2
rogue
Montana Master

M.O.C. #7368
Michael, I'm no expert in this area, but think the burner control valve is factory preset, and about the only thing you can do is replace it, or call out a local LP repair guy. At least thats what I'd do. I'm sure you will soon get some more ideas from our MOC friends.
Bob
rogue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 06:18 AM   #3
H. John Kohl
Montana Master

M.O.C. #311
Send a message via AIM to H. John Kohl Send a message via MSN to H. John Kohl Send a message via Yahoo to H. John Kohl
You know this but since it is "brand new" if possible work the repair under warranty.
Good luck.
H. John Kohl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 06:20 AM   #4
SlickWillie
Montana Master

M.O.C. #6575
You have to adjust the combustion air. Some of them have a small screw that can come loose and let the damper move. Another thing that can cause problems is blockage in the combustion chamber; wasp nests, dobbers, spider webs and such. You can blow it out with compressed air. Heater off of course.
SlickWillie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 08:56 AM   #5
Ontheroad
Montana Fan

M.O.C. #551
I agree with Will,