Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > MOC Technical Forums > Montana Problems, Problem Solving & Technical Help
Click Here to Login

Old 03-29-2007, 02:07 PM   #1
Native Tex
Montana Master

M.O.C. #375
Holding Tank Update

Well folks, if you can believe it, I have holding tank problems once again. If you remember we just replaced our black tank due to a crack just above the outlet. The new tank order and replacement went very smooth and all is working great for three weeks. Now, as of yesterday, I found a slight drip and it appears that our gray tank has a similar crack . The crack on this tank is way up on top and only leaks when the tank is over 3/4 full. I have been using these tanks for two years have never had a problem. We have been stationary for some 4 months, and do not understand the cracks. Oh will, will keep you up to speed on any replacement issues. I do know, the black tanks has to come back out to replace the gray tank. Poor engineering on that one.

Native Tex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2007, 03:17 AM   #2
Wrenchtraveller
Montana Master

M.O.C. #4890
Any chance that the grey tank could be repaired with eternabond tape instead of being replaced?
Wrenchtraveller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2007, 03:30 AM   #3
ols1932
Montana Master

M.O.C. #1944
Quote:
quote:Originally posted by Wrenchtraveller

Any chance that the grey tank could be repaired with eternabond tape instead of being replaced?
I wouldn't try that because it would only be temporary. The outside texture of the tank won't allow the tape to seal completely. If you're going to "try" anything, I'd try JB Weld. That stuff really works well.
ols1932 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2007, 03:46 AM   #4
richfaa
Montana Master

M.O.C. #2839