Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > Tow Vehicles & Towing
Click Here to Login

Old 02-15-2021, 10:48 AM   #1
juddspaintballs
Established Member

M.O.C. #28167
TV selection help

I recently bought a 350QBQ. I'm new to RVs in general unless you count my 1986 Coleman Sequoia popup that I rebuilt a couple years ago. I do not have a tow vehicle for it and the sellers delivered it to the pad I'm currently living on in it. They used a newer Chevy 3500 Duramax dually crew cab 4x4.

Right now we're full-time living in this and not moving it, but I need the ability to move it. I probably won't be moving it around much, but I do want to get the right vehicle. It appears my GVW is 16,080#. I'm just getting lost in the legalities and details of them. I know the blanket statement is "buy a diesel dually." I would actually like to buy a diesel dually, but even that is confusing with GVWR, GCVW, etc.

I'll be buying used. I don't like to spend all of my money, but I do like to buy the right thing the first time if possible. While the penny pincher in me wants to buy a 90's F350 2wd dually with a 460, it appears that they aren't legally rated high enough anyways, plus I know I wouldn't be happy with it towing very often. By the numbers, I think a pretty new Chevy 2500HD Duramax can pull the trailer weight, but I'm unsure of the payload capacity to be able to do that. Honestly, I'd like a 2006+ Duramax dually, but then I get into the question of whether a crew cab 4x4 would be too heavy of a vehicle to stay within the payload capacity of the truck with the trailer pin weight or not. And then, would I need a CDL being over 26,000# GCVW (I realize the trailer already exceeds the 10,000# limit for CDL) even though it's an RV?

I'm so confused!