Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > MOC Technical Forums > Montana Problems, Problem Solving & Technical Help
Click Here to Login

Old 08-15-2010, 11:26 AM   #1
Jo_Hine
Established Member

M.O.C. #10609
Battery Holder and Vent Hose in 3455SA

Not sure if this is applicable to all newer Montanas but, I'm sure it would be.

I want to double or even quadruple the battery storage in our rig. I know what wiring would be needed but have come up against a practical roadblock (I'm a newbie).

The front compartment where the battery is stored has a single container for a 12v battery and a matching fitted lid with a tube that vents outside. What would I have to do to put in a second battery and still maintain that venting and, even more, what about 4 batteries? Is the venting required? Can I just wire in additional batteries and not worry about the venting bt just have to worry about how I'm goiing to keep 2 (or 4) batteries in place?

Suggestions/advice welcome!

Paul

p.s. Are generators and/or inverters also stored in that front compartment if needed? I've heard of people just using the geneator in the back of a truck and hooking to the RV. Not really sure what the best way to go would be.

Jo_Hine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 11:39 AM   #2
deadeye
Montana Fan

M.O.C. #6693
Jo_Hine:
I can tell you what I have done and you may or may not want to go that way. I went to the jel type batteries and done away with the vent system. They are a bit pricey, but I like them. Two 12v in a series with a marine control switch that you can use one, two, or both batteries at once in case you want to charge both at once....JB
deadeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 11:42 AM   #3
Trailer Trash 2
Montana Master

M.O.C. #639