Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > MOC Technical Forums > Repairs & Service
Click Here to Login

Old 07-09-2006, 05:39 AM   #1
Outahere
Montana Fan

M.O.C. #724
Fridge

Well, here we are at 3years and 4 months and the Fridge went out. So 4 months out of warrenty. $1300 to replace Leaked all the Amonnia (sp) out and I am being told that to replace the cooling system is so expensive and desturbing to the entire system that it is a better idea to just replace the entire Fridge.
Has anyone done this kind of replacement before and is it something I might be able to do myself. I am a retired auto mechanic. Not that that means anything special or that I would have any idea how to work on this problem, just means I have some mechanical knowledge.
Thanks for any help that can be provided.

Mike

Outahere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2006, 05:55 AM   #2
CountryGuy
Montana Master

M.O.C. #191
Mike, sorry to hear about this,

We did have a frig die, in the last TT we owned, went out at 10 years (which is rather common time frame they tell us)

We pulled out, and eventually replaced with a Lowe's regular home variety frig, 10 cubic foot, upper freezer that was huge compared to the RV kind. Note we live in Michigan, but did move the unit around in some rather warm weather and never had any spoilage. Yes, it turns off when you unplug Montana, we just figured this into the art of living in a RV. Got er cold before we put the food in, tried to NOT open the doors while we were moving around, even 8 hours it was OK, even in 90 degree weather, and yes, that surprised even us.

I miss my ole frig in the TT, that is one thing I really miss. Got so used to all that storage, and once we adjusted our thinking, well, we were happy as pigs in mud, errrrr, campers with BIG frig!