Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
 

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > MOC Technical Forums > Maintenance
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-27-2022, 06:50 PM   #1
twindman
Montana Master
 
twindman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Mesa az
Posts: 2,433
M.O.C. #5651
A/C quit in BR

I posted about 10 days ago that the BR A/C unit quit. Wouldn't even run the fan. Checked the breakers, etc and nothing found. So I ordered one at a dealer in Iowa (I was in Wyoming at the time) for $1500 down!



Well today we pulled in to a new site and hooked up stuff and opened the door. The A/C was running and working!!!!!


So I guess I will still put in the new one, since the current one is working and I don't think they can diagnose anything that is working..???


At least I should get the new one and feel better about it not breaking down (Unless it is the wiring from the breaker box to the unit)


Oh well ...............
 
__________________

Tom and Gail
2013 Mountaineer 362
2012 Silverado 2500
twindman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2022, 07:16 AM   #2
ChuckS
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Mountain Home
Posts: 645
M.O.C. #20949
I wonder if you had lost one leg of 50 amp service at previous location. Each roof AC u it is wired to a different leg t9 split the amp draw.

The fact it is working now tells me either you lost one leg of power feed or you have loose connection on the circuit breaker to that AC unit or loose connections on the roof at that AC unit
ChuckS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2022, 06:43 PM   #3
twindman
Montana Master
 
twindman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Mesa az
Posts: 2,433
M.O.C. #5651
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckS View Post
I wonder if you had lost one leg of 50 amp service at previous location. Each roof AC u it is wired to a different leg t9 split the amp draw.

The fact it is working now tells me either you lost one leg of power feed or you have loose connection on the circuit breaker to that AC unit or loose connections on the roof at that AC unit

That is what I am thinking too. We looked at the breaker and tighted the wire connection. But then I just thought = what about the other wire to the unit? Didn't look at that nor the wiring in the bedroom
__________________

Tom and Gail
2013 Mountaineer 362
2012 Silverado 2500
twindman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2022, 06:53 PM   #4
Mikendebbie
Montana Master
 
Mikendebbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Austin
Posts: 1,541
M.O.C. #21044
Quote:
Originally Posted by twindman View Post
That is what I am thinking too. We looked at the breaker and tighted the wire connection. But then I just thought = what about the other wire to the unit? Didn't look at that nor the wiring in the bedroom
“Loosing one leg of the 50 amp” …I need help understanding because I can’t spell electricitee. Was it on the post of the campground where the problem existed or is it within your unit that this occurred? Did you tighten connections on your unit?
__________________
MikenDebbie Aggie 77 in the sticks near Austin TX
2019 Chevy 3500 High Country DRW
2018 Montana 3921FB
Aussie Gus + Texas Heeler Jimmy
Mikendebbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2022, 05:51 AM   #5
jimcol
Montana Master
 
jimcol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kansas City, Missouri
Posts: 2,473
M.O.C. #7992
Send a message via AIM to jimcol Send a message via MSN to jimcol
Mikendebbie, another common place to lose a leg or even the neutral is in the plug on the end of the power cord. They are well made and have really heavy lugs for each conductor, but over time a lug will loosen, and the conductor pulls out. I think the 90 degree adapter at the RV end really helps prevent this.
__________________
2006 3000RK
2009 Ram 2500
jimcol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2022, 08:44 AM   #6
1retired06
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Lake Gaston
Posts: 8,605
M.O.C. #12156
It has been several years since I have replaced an AC unit. Paid in the neighborhood of $800. Wow, $1500 !!
__________________
Mike and Lorraine
2002 3655 FL, 2005 3650RK
2010 3665RE, 2015 3910FB
F350 crew cab dually 6.7
1retired06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2022, 10:47 AM   #7
twindman
Montana Master
 
twindman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Mesa az
Posts: 2,433
M.O.C. #5651
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1retired06 View Post
It has been several years since I have replaced an AC unit. Paid in the neighborhood of $800. Wow, $1500 !!
Not including labor, either! They said the labor would be 2 hours, so that isn't so bad.
__________________

Tom and Gail
2013 Mountaineer 362
2012 Silverado 2500
twindman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2022, 01:41 PM   #8
cgeis48
Montana Fan
 
cgeis48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sun Lakes, AZ 85248
Posts: 154
M.O.C. #9174
Try this?

I had the same problem. I removed the front AC temperature sensor and the AC immediately started working. A good crimp on the connector cap and it was fixed. That was two weeks ago.
cgeis48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2022, 07:43 AM   #9
Ram Montana High Country
Montana Master
 
Ram Montana High Country's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: POINTBLANK
Posts: 1,668
M.O.C. #19944
Quote:
Originally Posted by cgeis48 View Post
I had the same problem. I removed the front AC temperature sensor and the AC immediately started working. A good crimp on the connector cap and it was fixed. That was two weeks ago.
Where is the temperature sensor referenced?
__________________
RAM 22' DRW 3500 Crew LB 40 gal reserve tank / RETRAX Bed Cover / 2020 373RD HC
MOPEKA Tank Monitor / Furrion Side&Rear Cameras
Slide Toppers / EMS-HW50C / Sailun 85's
3rd AC / Dometic 320
Ram Montana High Country is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2022, 10:52 AM   #10
rohrmann
Montana Master
 
rohrmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Box Elder
Posts: 4,070
M.O.C. #12947
Another place you could have a loose connection is the wire nuts at the A/C, where the Romex wiring is connected to the control box wiring. Maybe vibration while changing locations made the connection work again.
__________________
Bob & Becky
2012 3402RL
2012 Chevy 2500HD D/A CC 4WD
rohrmann is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2022, 09:39 PM   #11
twindman
Montana Master
 
twindman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Mesa az
Posts: 2,433
M.O.C. #5651
Quote:
Originally Posted by rohrmann View Post
Another place you could have a loose connection is the wire nuts at the A/C, where the Romex wiring is connected to the control box wiring. Maybe vibration while changing locations made the connection work again.
That is what I was thinking too. Since the dealer ordered a A/c and I already paid for it, I am kind of stuck anyway.
__________________

Tom and Gail
2013 Mountaineer 362
2012 Silverado 2500
twindman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Montana RV, Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.