Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
 

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > General Discussions about our Montanas
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-15-2022, 05:12 PM   #1
farmerbk
Established Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Location: Seymour
Posts: 20
M.O.C. #28442
AC not coming on?

All
you have been a wealth of knowledge to this newbie....


We are prepping our 2017 3820FK for maiden voyage and my home for a work assignment...
got the water lines all flushed, and mechanical seems OK, EXCEPT...
I set the AC units to see if they will come on and cool (I will be working PT in Texas) I set the programmers, and they show cool, but nothing kicks on


I have the unit hooked to 30A shoreline power....what am I missing?
thanks
bryon
 
farmerbk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2022, 05:16 PM   #2
Richard Blackwell
Seasoned Camper
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Indio
Posts: 92
M.O.C. #19705
Send a message via AIM to Richard Blackwell Send a message via MSN to Richard Blackwell
If you're trying to get two AC units to start up, you might have tripped your 30amp circuit breaker...unless you have something like "SoftStartRV" devices installed, the start-up amps may be exceeding the load capability for the 30amp circuit breaker...JMO
__________________
Richard & Judy Blackwell
Indio, Ca.
2014 F350 DRW 4x4 Diesel
2013 3402RL
Richard Blackwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2022, 07:44 AM   #3
Daryles
Montana Master
 
Daryles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Alton
Posts: 1,714
M.O.C. #24086
On 30A you will only be able to run 1 AC unit and some other light loads with it.
Going to TX you will need 2 AC units running.
IF you are on a 30A service in TX I would recommend installing a SoftStartRV at least on 1 unit. Then start the unit without the SoftStartRV first, after it is running for a few minutes, then start the unit with the SoftStartRV.

It would be a good idea to know what each appliance draws so you stay under your 30A limit.

How SoftStartRV works.
Mike Sokol of
RVELECTRICITY FB group
https://www.facebook.com/groups/rvelectricity/?ref=share
Did a test on the SoftStartRV. He has detailed his results here.
https://www.rvtravel.com/rv-electricity-hard-or-soft-start-caps/
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Appliance wattage chart.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	288.8 KB
ID:	11972  
Daryles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2022, 08:42 AM   #4
jsb5717
Montana Master
 
jsb5717's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Milwaukie, OR
Posts: 1,056
M.O.C. #23668
So far this doesn't sound like an overload issue. Even if the 30a breaker at the post tripped, the AC would have first kicked on in order to trip it. If nothing is kicking on when the thermostat is calling for the AC then this issue likely isn't power. For sure double check that the 30a breaker at the post is on and that other 120v items in the trailer work. If they do then it's something else.

Are the AC breakers in the trailer on? Is the thermostat set to a low enough temp to call for cooling? What's the outdoor temp when trying to test the AC? Are you trying to test only one at a time (recommended)?
__________________

Jeff & Sandi (and Teddy - 7lb Schnorkie)
2018 Montana HC 305RL / Demco Recon Hitch on B&W Ball
2012 RAM 3500 Big Horn Crew Cab 4x4 SRW / AMP Power Running Boards / Air Bags
jsb5717 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2022, 10:18 PM   #5
farmerbk
Established Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Location: Seymour
Posts: 20
M.O.C. #28442
Thanks so far

All
thanks for the replies so far...actually out planting
will respond in depth as soon as I can
thanks again
bryon
farmerbk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2022, 05:15 PM   #6
farmerbk
Established Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Location: Seymour
Posts: 20
M.O.C. #28442
got the first one to run...

All
as noted in a couple of the replies, it was not an electric supply problem.
Perhaps I did not have the programming quite right....


I ended up starting over on the ac in the living area, and it started....I could hear it running. hopefully the same will occur in the rear.


Now if I can get the hot water heater and stove gas figured out.....
thanks again

bryon
farmerbk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Montana RV, Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.