Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > Tow Vehicles & Towing
Click Here to Login

Old 04-06-2013, 03:54 AM   #1
leemedic
Montana Fan

M.O.C. #13354
Bumping/Chucking

I have a 40' Montana, 2006 Ford 350 dually diesel, full bed, Curt 20K hitch, Mor/ryde pin box on the 5er.

Since I am new to towing a 5th wheel, how much fore/aft chucking/bumping is normal? It makes no difference when I am on I75 just cruising 60 mph or pulling it at 30 mph on city streets I get constant "Chucking/bumping". Is this normal? What is normal? I am used to pulling a 34' Sprinter TT with a Hensley hitch and there was NO bumping/chucking.

leemedic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 03:57 AM   #2
racerjoe
Montana Master

M.O.C. #7770
looking at your picture,you may be to far behind the axle. It will do what you are saying,especially a unit that long.there is a lot of tail weight and not enough hitch weight
racerjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 04:11 AM   #3
leemedic
Montana Fan

M.O.C. #13354
Quote:
quote:Originally posted by racerjoe

looking at your picture,you may be to far behind the axle. It will do what you are saying,especially a unit that long.there is a lot of tail weight and not enough hitch weight
It is hard to see in this small photo but the Curt is over the rear axle. If you now look closely you can see the Mor/ryde pin box sloping forward to the cab of the truck.

Old 04-06-2013, 04:40 AM   #4
H. John Kohl
Montana Master

M.O.C. #311
Send a message via AIM to H. John Kohl Send a message via MSN to H. John Kohl Send a message via Yahoo to H. John Kohl
I first reaction is the rubber cushion in the Mor/Ryde pin is too light allowing too much slop. I suggest you contact Mor/Ryde and talk to them.
H. John Kohl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 04:43 AM   #5
DQDick