Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > General Discussions about our Montanas
Click Here to Login

Old 03-31-2006, 08:31 AM   #1
sreigle
Montana Master

M.O.C. #20
WooHoo! I'm an off-road 4x4 driver!!

Well, that's probably very relative. We don't do the really serious 4x4 roads but got ourselves into a couple of them recently that are labeled "moderate" in the guidebooks. One of them is a 4 on some scale that ranks from 1 to 8.

On this one I wasn't sure our pure stock Ford would handle it but four wheel low climbed right over this with no protest at all. By the way, this picture makes it look a lot easier than it actually was...

That, above, is Willow Flats Road, which starts in Arches National Park. This part is the higher rated part and is outside (west of) the park.

The following is Shafer Trail, which starts near the entrance to Canyonlands National park. These switchbacks (no duallies here!) go for four miles and drop 2400 feet to the canyon floor where it continues to a total of 18 miles and is a 4x4 only road. We averaged 6 mph on this one. We also stood on the spot where the Thunderbird shoots off the cliff in the movie Thelma and Louise. It's below Dead Horse Point. This is all in Utah.

Yeah, I know. None of this qualifies me as an off-road 4x4 driver but it was a lot of fun.

sreigle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 08:45 AM   #2
jrgwdenner
Montana Master

M.O.C. #1105
Remember your advanced age...... How did your passenger like the ride? You're having way too much fun.
jrgwdenner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 08:45 AM   #3
OntMont
Montana Master

M.O.C. #122
That looks like fun, Steve! How did Vicki take to it?

Did you get to flash lights at many Montanas on those routes?

John & Donna.
OntMont is offline   Reply With Quote