Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > MOC Technical Forums > It's a Dirty Job but Someone has to do it!
Click Here to Login

Old 06-01-2008, 03:24 PM   #1
drjjj
Montana Fan

M.O.C. #5757
Mouse invasion

I know this has been discussed before, but we checked on our stored 2007 3400RL today and found evidence that Mickey's relatives have at least visited, if not moved in. We are under cover, but do not have electricity. We thoroughly cleaned the rig and left no foodstuffs in it when we parked it. My concern about distributing bait (poison) is that the little devils might scatter some in the carpet that we cannot see, and then we use the rig again (the cat has to go with us) she might find it. I am a veterinarian, and all of the new mice baits are extremely lethal in small doses to a cat. Advice, please!

drjjj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2008, 03:32 PM   #2
Mrs. CountryGuy
Montana Master

M.O.C. #6337
First of all, thanks for that tidbit on the poison, and your qualifying credentials. I for one really appreciate hearing your views. THANKS

With no power, and not wanting to use poisons, one alternative may be the Bounce dryer sheets.

I have never used the electronic beeper things that many MOCers have said are TERRIFIC, is there a version of that that runs on batteries?? If so, maybe consider one or two of those, as many speak very highly of them.

One thing for the Bounce, the trailer smells good.

I personally have not had any luck with moth balls keeping critters out, they said moth balls work on like wasps and stuff. Did not work for me, and then you have that smell, which I found a tad on the offensive side.