Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > General Discussions about our Montanas
Click Here to Login

Old 11-27-2006, 04:00 PM   #1
exav8tr
Montana Master

M.O.C. #6333
Supports under slides

Is it necessary to add supports under slides when they are extended? Obviously I am new to this lifestyle. I have not seen any, just wondering...Thanks for help....

Frozen Phil in the Frigid North.....

exav8tr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2006, 04:07 PM   #2
bsmeaton
Montana Master

M.O.C. #6109
Phil,

I remember seeing those at camping world years ago - not sure you need them on the Montana/Lippert slides. I think they are more for the TT with the crank out slides that aren't very sturdy. I actually looked at a TT that had bars you had to extend INSIDE between the slide and the wall to hold the slide closed.

bsmeaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2006, 04:17 PM   #3
Montana Sky
Montana Master

M.O.C. #889
No need for slide supports, I leave my slides out for 6 months a year. I cycle them open and closed once or twice every two weeks to keep things lubricated and operating properly.
Montana Sky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2006, 04:33 PM   #4
mallardjusted
Montana Fan

M.O.C. #2334
I have a set, and I use them if we are set up for several days and expect lots of company in the unit. But I actually don't think they are needed (hmmm, an opportunity to leave some weight at home???!!!)
mallardjusted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2006, 11:31 PM   #5
Glenn and Lorraine
Montana Master

M.O.C. #420
Using supports under the slides is a big no no. Keystone does not recommend them even for TTs.