Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > General Discussions about our Montanas
Click Here to Login

Old 09-18-2020, 12:39 AM   #1
Bnrc73
Montana Fan

M.O.C. #21597
Winter rising

I want to use the air pressure method to winter rise this year. I’ve never done that before. I know to use between 30 40lbs of pressure. Do I open all the faucets and blow it in to my gray tank, or will just opening the low point drain purge all my lines? Thanks in advance for any tips.

Worthington MN
Bnrc73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2020, 05:53 AM   #2
DQDick
Site Team

M.O.C. #11455
First I open the low point drains and everything inside, then I close everything inside and have my wife open each faucet and flush the toilet while I'm putting the air in. Then we put a little RV antifreeze down the drains that have P traps and in the toilet to keep the seal good. If you have a washer you'll need to put some in there also and run the spin cycle to make sure the pump is full of antifreeze and not water.
DQDick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2020, 06:43 AM   #3
DutchmenSport
Montana Master

M.O.C. #22835
"When" we blow the lines, I do it the same as DQDick above. I hold the air hose on the water inlet air stem while my wife goes around each faucet and turns on each one, one at a time.

Note: we never pressurize the lines. I bring my air compressor up to full pressure and then the wife turns on the first faucet. I then connect the air hose (like putting air in a car tire), and as soon as the faucet starts spitting air, she turns on the next knob. Meanwhile, the air compressor has now kicked on attempting to refill itself. This way, there is never more pressure in the lines, except what is needed to push the water out.