Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GIRLS gone MOC > What's cooking?
Click Here to Login

Old 04-12-2008, 04:43 AM   #1
eeoski
Montana Fan

M.O.C. #8297
Omelt in a Bag

Okay, newbie here and I've been reading about this "infamous" or possibly "notorious" Omelt in a Bag on the Rally threads. Would someone be so kind as to post the recipt/how to on this thread for me. It might be usable for our Volunteer Fire Department's fund raising. (They currently do spaghetti dinners and pancake breakfasts with very good results.)

Thanks in advance!

Robin

eeoski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2008, 05:49 AM   #2
prariepoodle
Montana Master

M.O.C. #450
Send a message via Yahoo to prariepoodle
This is a good quick breakfast if you have alot of people to cook for, and it is fun.

Omelette in a bag:

Break 2 eggs, and put it a quart freezer bag, add whatever you want in your omelette in the bag. We chopped up green peppers, onions,ham,sausage,mushrooms,cheese,tomatoes or whatever you might like. Bring enough water to boil in a large pot to cover approx. 8 bags at a time. Boil 11-13 minutes and voila you have a perfect omelette. We had everyone write their name with marker on their bag. Lots of fun and feeds several people fast.
prariepoodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2008, 06:20 AM   #3
H. John Kohl
Montana Master

M.O.C. #311
Send a message via AIM to H. John Kohl Send a message via MSN to H. John Kohl Send a message via Yahoo to H. John Kohl
Robin,
this link shows photos of the vats needed for cooking using boiling water and the preparation with zip lock bags. As stated in previous posts, if you do not have the proper vats it is a real choir.
A note the bag is kneaded after it has been in the water five minute to mix up the ingredients. So hot water gloves are needed too.