Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > MOC Technical Forums > Maintenance
Click Here to Login

Old 03-07-2010, 10:24 AM   #1
dedcapri

M.O.C. #9999
Towing Truck Tires

I'm towing a 2010 Montana Mountaineer with a 2007 Chevy Silverado 2500, diesel w/ Allison Transmission, rear wheel drive. Truck is equipped with LT 245/75 R16 Bridgstone tires. Having a lot of trouble with tires spinning, getting stuck and towed. Sandy road or slightly muddy conditions and I'm stuck! Any thoughts from MOC folks? I'm a newbie and need advice before I end up calling AAA again. Thanks.

dedcapri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 01:04 PM   #2
LonnieB
Montana Master

M.O.C. #6150
Send a message via MSN to LonnieB
dedcapri,
I'm not sure different tires will do you much good. A more aggressive tread pattern may help a little in slightly muddy conditions, but will only cause you to get stuck deeper in sandy conditions.
If these are the conditions you regularly travel under, you probably should consider a 4 wheel drive truck.

Welcome to the MOC family.
LonnieB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 01:13 PM   #3
PapaBeav
Montana Master

M.O.C. #7487
Very aggressive tires or a 4wheel drive truck is about all you can do.
PapaBeav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 01:45 PM   #4
ole dude
Montana Master

M.O.C. #7128
Pay attention to LonnieB, he da man.
ole dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 02:06 PM   #5
camper4
Montana Master

M.O.C. #6635
Tires are not the answer. A four wheel drive truck is the answer. Make sure you get a truck with a true lock up rear dify to get the most out of it. Ford does not have one. ( Now I will take heat from the Ford boys... used to be one,,, oh well)
Welcome to a great place!
camper4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 07:36 PM   #6
Rondo
Site Team