Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > Brrr it's cold outside! Winter Camping
Click Here to Login

Old 11-20-2008, 07:54 PM   #1
blamb
Montana Fan

M.O.C. #8858
Winterizing while living in it

I studied up on all the winterizing threads in the forum, but most seemed to be geared toward those with intentions to store their monty's for the winter. How about some winterizing tips for us newbies who are living in them for the winter? I finally got into my monty just as the weather has turned cold and started reaching freezing temps at night. So I'm still new to figuring out how to best take care of it, and tonight is my first below-freezing night.

The first thing I did to winterize was buy some dense foam tubes that have adhesive where it's split. Then after I covered as much of the exposed water hose as I could with it and closed it up in it, I wrapped it tight in spirals with sticky tape made of the same type of material, only thinner. I was going to put heat tape on the hose itself before the foam but the store I got a ride to ended up not having any. A guy there tried to sell me this electric pipe warmer and when I said it was just like a garden hose, he said "oh well never mind it would probably melt it.". They need to make those for water hoses!

I wasn't sure what to do about the sewer hose, though. I have 2 hoses hooked up which makes it too long and makes it snake around on the ground, but one hose is too short. So there's a lot of standing water at any given time in the hose, unless everytime I use the water I go out and walk it from the rig to the hole to empty it. Alas.