Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > MOC Technical Forums > Maintenance
Click Here to Login

Old 09-23-2011, 12:41 PM   #1
Lambchop
Montana Fan

M.O.C. #5793
Wet Bolt Alternative

As some of you know, I just oil my suspension instead of the wet bolts. It works great for me. I took off two shackles by the Mor Ride
& found NO wear to speak of. I have been doing this maintenance since unit was new.
I oil my bushings with 30 W oil every 600 miles. No noise or excessive play to speak about. I have about 12,000 miles on 5ver..No problems. Biggest problem is nobody does anything to their suspension & everything just wears & rusts out.
Those plastic or nylon bushings are there for noise only!

I've been pulling trailers & 5th wheels since 1969 & never any problems with worn bushings. Take care of them & they will take care of you. Yes, I pack my bearings every two years.

What ever you are comfortable with..go with it.

Roy

Lambchop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2011, 02:06 PM   #2
NCFischers
Montana Master

M.O.C. #8728
Send a message via Yahoo to NCFischers
Whatever floats your boat. If it works for you, than so be it.
NCFischers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2011, 03:41 AM   #3
Johnnyg
Montana Fan

M.O.C. #9710
Thanks for the tip. I plan to start oiling today.
Johnnyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2011, 09:32 AM   #4
helmick
Montana Master

M.O.C. #8890
When Keystone builds a new Montana they try to spend as little as possible. They now know enough that they put wet-bolts on all the new Montanas.
helmick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2011, 03:06 PM   #5
Champ_49
Montana Master

M.O.C. #9045
Send a message via Yahoo to Champ_49