Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > HAVE MOC WILL TRAVEL > Let Us Entertain You
Click Here to Login

Old 05-04-2006, 07:24 AM   #1
craigdesk

M.O.C. #4675
Dish Network - 500

Ok... this is my first time using the site for help. I've been reading every thing I can about satellite TV. We went to Dish network at our home, yesterday, and have the "500" system. Apparently that means we must stay hooked up to a land line in order to use it. We thought we could take the box (322- 2 TV hook up), in our Montana when we travel, but being new at this, don't see how we are supposed to do that. Does anyone have this system that could help me. I've called several places, including Dish Network, and I really don't want to have another complete account for a few times on the road. (Not fulltimers). Can you help?
Shari

craigdesk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2006, 07:26 AM   #2
Kimmrg
Montana Fan

M.O.C. #1217
Shari, I'll let the more knowledgeable ones tell you how, but I know it can be done. We fulltime and use Direct TV and have seen many folks on the road with their dishes. This was the place to ask!
Kimmrg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2006, 09:11 AM   #3
Glenn and Lorraine
Montana Master

M.O.C. #420
Welcome Daron & Shari to the MOC Family.

You only need to be hooked up to a land line when using any of the PPV (PayPerView) channels. Other than the PPV you do not need a land line connection.
Glenn and Lorraine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2006, 12:52 PM   #4
VanMan
Montana Master

M.O.C. #9
We have the Dish 500. As stated above, the landline is only needed for pay per view. If you get very far from home you will not be able to get your local channels, though.
VanMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2006, 05:10 AM   #5
toolmanroy
Montana Master

M.O.C. #1745