Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > MOC Technical Forums > Montana Problems, Problem Solving & Technical Help
Click Here to Login

Old 05-04-2008, 02:21 PM   #1
zechinova
Established Member

M.O.C. #8008
Crack in shell

We just purchased a used 2002 Monty and at time of inspection did not notice any problems but after driving from MN to OR we noticed a crack in the outer shell located on driver side, near the seam, under the bed, by the propane tank right where it curves to allow room for the truck. It is under the bed and is "L" shaped and only 3-4 inches. You can tell by my description I'm new to fifth wheels. We drilled tiny holes where the crack ends to keep it from growing (hopefully). Any advice on what we need to do and if this means we have a serious problem. We had an RV "expert" look at the vehicle and he said it was in great shape, sound and good condition. This is no water damage as it is on under side with only the main I Beam on the inner side. Can we fix it or need to go to repair shop? Any estimate on how much it will cost?

zechinova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2008, 03:05 PM   #2
ols1932
Montana Master

M.O.C. #1944
You did the proper thing to stop the crack from spreading. Without a picture I can't give you any advice on what else to do. We had the front end of our 2000 fixed last June at a cost to us of $3150 but that was well worth it. Our front end is more solid now than anything Keystone has manufactured.

Orv
ols1932 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2008, 03:34 PM   #3
Bill-N-Donna
Montana Master

M.O.C. #7110