Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > MOC Technical Forums > Maintenance
Click Here to Login

Old 08-13-2007, 12:54 PM   #1
sgtpp214
Montana Master

M.O.C. #1782
Tire Question

DD and SIL have a used 04 trailer they have in a seasonal campground site. They traveled twice this year a blew a tire each time. SIL asked me if taking the weight off tires when parked in seasonal site would help. I have no experience or answer. Our Monty is sitting in the driveway ready to go tomorrow after sitting for 3 wseeks, the longest this year. I recommend he replace all the tires and get at least E rated tires. Thanks

sgtpp214 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2007, 01:32 PM   #2
ggranch
Montana Fan

M.O.C. #6588
I am not an expert but believe you gave good advice. Tires have a definite life span regardless of the miles traveled. Also, being a used rig, the useage and care of the tires has been uncontrolled by the new users. Tires that are in contact with the ground will degrade at the contact patch no matter what % weight they experience. The heat cycles and rotation of the tires when in use will actually help extend thier lives over just sitting. There are several "tire guys" on this forum and they will probably check in on this one. Bob
ggranch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2007, 04:47 PM   #3
Hemlockusa
Montana Master

M.O.C. #4766
If Lonnie B or Glennn finds the time to jump in here, you will get great information on your tire questions... I wish I could help. But I am still letting air out of the tire's to make things level... ho ho ho safe travels and see you in BRANSON 2008 John
Hemlockusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2007, 05:06 PM   #4
ols1932
Montana Master

M.O.C. #1944