Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > Tow Vehicles & Towing
Click Here to Login

Old 03-23-2007, 01:26 PM   #1
Garin1
Montana Master

M.O.C. #2773
Reese slider

Oops, I have the Reese Signature Slider 18k and have never used the slider function. I am moving to a new site that is tighter and will need it. The problem is I have never used it before and my manual is back in Louisiana. HEEELLLP.

Garin1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2007, 03:01 PM   #2
SlickWillie
Montana Master

M.O.C. #6575
You can download your manual at http://www.reeseprod.com/. I have the 16K slider, and it is very easy to operate. Just makes a little noise when it slides and latches. Scares the DW every time.
SlickWillie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2007, 06:08 PM   #3
Garin1
Montana Master

M.O.C. #2773
Will, I went to that web site and could not find the procedure.
Old 03-24-2007, 01:37 AM   #4
jpbcny
Montana Fan

M.O.C. #4571
To use the hitch in a tight area, shift the handle to the "Maneuvering" Position,

apply your trailer brakes manually, when you pull foward the hitch will slide on the rails to the rear, and lock in.

I usually wait until I have unhooked to return the hitch to the "Towing" Position, (I just shift the the handle to Towing Position, and push it forward with a board)

Though I Have returned it while hooked up, just do the opposite of the "Maneuvering" instructions (Shift the handle to "Towing" Position, apply your trailer brakes manually, and back to the 5er until the hitch slides into position).

Be forewarned it will make a LOUD bang when the hitch slides to the end of the rails, and locks into either position.

JP
jpbcny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2007, 11:37 AM   #5
Garin1
Montana Master

M.O.C. #2773