Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > MOC Technical Forums > Repairs & Service
Click Here to Login

Old 08-04-2021, 09:02 PM   #1
chadthomasson
Established Member

M.O.C. #29317
Water heater issue in delivery of used unit

Just received transport delivery (sight unseen) of my 3820FK today from a friend of a friend. During setup, I went inside to burp out the lines and noticed I wasn’t getting any pressure on the faucets. I went back out and water was running out of the water heater access door. Upon removing that, I saw that there was an open threaded hole and what looks like a heating element (not sure as I’m brand new to to RV life) laying in the bottom of that cavity. I don’t see anywhere to attach wires. There is also a lot of calcium buildup. Is this, in fact an element, or is it just a plug that was removed for winterizing? I’m wondering if I should feel “some kind of way” as in did he know this and just didn’t tell me or is it as simple as screwing that in and running it?

I attempted to attach a photo, but not sure if it is there. If not, I’ll try again in a comment below.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	9032599C-9121-4E7D-BAFB-381736984E2E.jpg
Views:	76
Size:	167.4 KB
ID:	9857  

chadthomasson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2021, 09:04 PM   #2
rames14
Montana Master

M.O.C. #1920
That is your anode. It keeps your Water heater from scaling up. It’s a consumable item. Note the size and brand and order a spare on Amazon. Yes, screw it in and run.
Ron and Terrie Ames - MOC #1920/KF0NTA
2021Montana 3230CK Super Solar Legacy Package
2021 Ram 3500 Laramie Longhorn, BIM Charging
4x4, SRW, LB, Crew Cab, Pullrite 3900 Hitch
rames14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2021, 09:07 PM   #3
chadthomasson
Established Member

M.O.C. #29317