Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > Tow Vehicles & Towing
Click Here to Login

Old 07-08-2012, 11:49 AM   #1
hikerdoc
Seasoned Camper

M.O.C. #10717
Send a message via Yahoo to hikerdoc
Elite Series and breakaway cable

Hey, just a quick question for all you new Ford owners with the fifth wheel hitch option and the Elite Series hitch. Where do you attach the breakaway cable when you travel? I used to attach mine to the bed rails in the truck on my previous vehicle, but there is no place to do that here. The D rings in the corners are too far away and would likely pull it on a sharp turn. Any suggestions on where you attach yours? Thanks a lot in advance.

hikerdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 12:45 PM   #2
seahunter
Montana Master

M.O.C. #11675
I'm a newbie to fifth wheels, but I just put mine on the hitch handle. I think anything fixed to the tow vehicle is okay as long as it won't come off.

seahunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 01:20 PM   #3
Ren
Montana Fan

M.O.C. #10954
I used to put mine on the hitch handle untill I saw a pic of that wrecked Cameo ( somewhere here on Montana Owners Forum) and the hitch came right out of the truck. I now have a pretty heavy peice of rope tied across the bed tie downs near the bottom of the tail gate and have an anchor shackle connecting the breakaway cable to the rope.

This will allow the break away cable to run back and forth, if it needs to, but doubtfull. I dont put anything behind the tailgate and hitch anyways so this works out great for me.
Old 07-08-2012, 01:38 PM   #4
bncinwv
Montana Master

M.O.C. #6846