Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > MOC Technical Forums > Maintenance
Click Here to Login

Old 06-16-2023, 07:22 PM   #1
DutchmenSport
Montana Master

M.O.C. #22835
Front window, what's going on?

At least once a year I give my Montana High Country a really, really good bath. For the last 2 weeks, that's what I've been doing, getting ready to take off for another 2 months soon.

So, got the entire trailer washed, roof treated with Roof Conditioner, even a small bit of touch-up paint too in spots.

I noticed, after all this work, that the frond windshield still looked bad. I washed it again (Dawn Dishwashing liquid, long brush and lots of water). Still, looked dingy

I then tried using Windex and paper towel, and it changed nothing. So, now I studied the window real careful and it looked like there might have been water leaks inside the window, causing the foggy, bumpy, dirty, dingy look. But, not willing to give up yet.

I rubbed one spot with Windex real, real hard, and let it dry. Then I niticed, that one spot was realy, really clean! Down to the glass.

Looking more careful, I though, if I used a nylon kitchen scrubbie and straight vinegar, that grimy stuff would come off. Well, it did, but it was a LOT of rubbing.

That's when I realized, a flat utility razer blade knife, window scraper would do "it" a lot faster.... And it did! But then when scraping with the blade, I realized..... this was not dirt.

There was a film on the outside of the windshield. No, it was not the window tinting. It was more like packaging plastic that would come wrapped on some electronics one might get. Only this stuff was really, really stuck on.