PDA

View Full Version : Wires to Closet


rames14
07-28-2021, 12:55 PM
I have a fuse block that I have located on the wall in the front basement. I want to run a circuit from there to the closet in the cap. Has anyone found an easy way to run 12v wiring up to the bedroom area? I prefer to not splice into the ceiling lights. Thanks in advance.

Daryles
07-28-2021, 06:00 PM
Yes!
I ran a 120vac circuit from the battery compartment Starboard side, through the wall (drill a hole).
Then from the basement follow the washer plumbing (fish a wire through) and it comes out under the bedroom drawers. From here you can push it forward to the shelf on the lower right wall of the closet. Take that shelf apart. You will see the washer plumbing and your push wire.

For me I mounted a 120vac outlet on the side of the drawers. It is connected to my inverter in the battery compartment.

firestation12
07-28-2021, 06:10 PM
Yes, As Daryles suggested, using the area under the dresser drawers is a protected space which can be utilized to run wiring. Simply remove the drawers to access the space. In your case 12 volts as opposed to Daryles' example of 120 volts

rames14
07-28-2021, 06:14 PM
Can I do it without removing the dresser? Is it possible to fish the wire from where the water lines enter back into the door side corner of the closet?

firestation12
07-28-2021, 07:29 PM
Not knowing your bedroom layout, every space is game for running your 12 volt wire. No one is suggesting you remove the dresser, only removing the drawers and running the wire below the dresser drawers. The closet in most 5th wheels is located forward above the pin box overhang area, some distance from the storage area. A horizontal pathway is usually needed to get the wire from the storage compartment to the forward closet. The dresser is an ideal way to accomplish that.

rames14
07-28-2021, 07:44 PM
Our bedroom has a square raised section that goes the entire length of the bedroom. Our washer dryer closet is at the end of that square raised section. My challenge will be getting the wire down that channel to the closet section.

Carl n Susan
07-28-2021, 08:03 PM
Ron, I did it in my 2955. Remove the drawers from the dresser and you will see the channel running at the back of the dresser. I cut a piece out of the top of the channel about mid-way to make fishing my line easier. I later scabbed a couple of supports in the hole and replaced the removed piece (not that anyone would ever see it under the dresser) .


In my current rig, there is a 12V line that comes up under the bed. I don't know exactly the route it takes but it may be another route you could use.

rames14
07-28-2021, 09:45 PM
I will look under the bed. Just trying to add some LED lighting to brighten the closets.

M&M
07-30-2021, 05:22 PM
I was installing a broom holder in washer/dryer closet and I think the wall between it and clothes closet is not solid. My pilot drilled into an open space and not through other side. If that is the case itíll may be possible to use that.

rames14
07-30-2021, 06:13 PM
Owning an RV is an opportunity to acquire new tools. I ordered an endoscope to “scope out” a wire path. I am leaning toward using the channel where the washer/dryer hoses run. I know where the hose enters, and may cut an access hole like Carl suggested. Haven’t gone out to see about the 12v under the bed.

mattf
08-04-2021, 01:20 PM
That square raised section you refer to running along the wall can be removed in our 3121RL, don't know if may be different in your unit. If the box is carpeted like ours feel around and you may find screws holding it in place. When I removed the box I had access to the washer water and drain lines, so I ran wiring that way.

rames14
08-04-2021, 01:48 PM
Matt, I have decided that is my best path. I got an endoscope so I can check the path. I talked to Arkaware because he had already removed the piece in the closet. I am hoping to take that out and run my fish sticks back to where the water lines come in. My BIM wires run straight through the propane bay to the front basement, which is where my 12v circuit box is located. Thanks.