PDA

View Full Version : Sailun Tire Failure

PSFORD99
02-25-2019, 10:22 AM
I know, hard to believe . Sailun S637 ST 235/85/16. They are 2years old, not a terrible amount of miles 4-5K.

Lost the front tire drivers side, when I looked back in the mirror for an instant I thought it was a bearing. Then I could see that it was the tire. It was smoking so bad I thought it was on fire.

I neither felt or heard anything. I just don't believe it blew out , although it had a long jagged hole, about a foot or so long on the sidewall just below the tread. I am far from an expert, but I am thinking the hole was from running with no air ,and the tire was starting to come apart.

Couldn't find anything in the tread itself, hole ,nail, whatever. Tread was completely intact ,no damage or separation.

Not a scratch on the fifth wheel, nor any damage to the wheel, couldn't have gone far, eventually I would think it would have really started to come apart. I was running at 65 mph .

The tires were inflated to 100 psi. The tire rated at 4400 Lbs at 110 psi , was no where near its capacity. Fifth wheel weighed , partially loaded 12,740, and 2420 on the pin.

I was able to get pulled off the road, I was 20 miles outside Kingman, Az. Located a new Sailun tire from Big O in Kingman, great price 155.99 , plus the taxes , mounting ,and balancing. Decided not to change to the spare, 11 years old. I know , my bad.

Dropped the spare in case my wheel was damaged , unhooked the fifth wheel , removed the tire . Loaded in truck ,and headed to Kingman. After all that made it to Yuma yesterday. Will buy other new one here in Yuma. I want to replace the one behind the failed one. Although I did run it 200 miles to Yuma, I feel its been compromised a bit. I will make it the spare, and throw away that 11 year old spare .

WeBeFulltime
02-25-2019, 10:30 AM