PDA

View Full Version : Abnormal Tire wear

MrMeeks
02-16-2017, 10:57 AM
Bought used 2008 2955RLand noticed extra wear on outside right rear tire. Wear on outside edge of tire. Not a balancing issue. I understand there''s no alignment to be done. Is this due to more weight (ref, microwave, sinks) on that side, or just the nature of the beast. Do I live with it or try to fix it? Thx for your help....I'm new to trailering.

BB_TX
02-16-2017, 12:29 PM
Actually axle alignment can be done by a properly equipped trailer shop. The axles should be aligned to each other and to the frame.

A bent axle can also cause odd tire wear.

Others should be along to provide more detailed info. My trailer is similar and the tires have 20,000 + miles with no noticeable wear difference on any.

BB_TX
02-16-2017, 08:33 PM
You might also take a look at your spring hangers. Possible you could have a broken hanger on that side.

TLightning
02-17-2017, 04:36 PM
If it is an ST tire, that could be the culprit.

Charli
02-20-2017, 09:06 PM
I had wear on the outside of one of my tires and had a wheel alignment done at a shop specializing is alignments in Mesa, az. All of the tires were out but the tire showing execcive wear was out the most.
I asked what would cause all the wheels to be out and they said it happens frequently due to the pounding on the rough roads, hitting curbs, etc.
At least now when I switch out my tires this summer I know they will be properly aligned, at least for a while.

RonD
02-20-2017, 09:55 PM
Bought used 2008 2955RLand noticed extra wear on outside right rear tire. Wear on outside edge of tire. Not a balancing issue. I understand there''s no alignment to be done. Is this due to more weight (ref, microwave, sinks) on that side, or just the nature of the beast. Do I live with it or try to fix it? Thx for your help....I'm new to trailering.