PDA

View Full Version : Direct tv


cmawendy
05-13-2009, 12:12 PM
When setting up our direct tv dish the signal strength will be good in the 90's and then it just goes off. It even does it by itself, it will go on and then off (the signal strength) this has never happened before does anyone have any ideas??

Jolu
05-13-2009, 01:06 PM
I guess it might be worth checking the coax ends first to see if the connectors are on good. Then check the rest of the connections.

Recently I had a coax cable go bad. I think I ran over it or something. It gave me fits for a few days till I figured it out.

bob n pam
05-13-2009, 01:27 PM
When that happens to us it is usually a connection problem. Bob uses the push on connectors and they fail regularly. The little pin inside breaks easily.

Art-n-Marge
05-13-2009, 01:48 PM
I had this problem when I had a piece of cable that was not RG-6. Sometimes it worked and sometimes it didn't. I have removed and cut (on purpose) all these cables and put them in the recyclable cans and I no longer run into this problem being caused for this. BUT, there is only one place I still have a questionable cable and it is the walls of the trailer going from the LR to the BR. I am too lazy and too cheap to replace it, but one of these days.... In this case the BR does not always work as well at the LR, but one of these days it will irritate me enough to replace or bypass it.

Another common problem would be a connector. The biggest problem with quick connects is that the center pin is sometimes too short, and with the nature of these connectors not being as snug you might not get a good connection. I crimped the quick connectors on the outside to improve the tightness of the connection, but that doesn't solve the center pin being too short and making a good connection, or breaking off. I have quick connects here and there but with the problems I have been having with them, I think I will be getting rid of them and taking the time to screw the cables together. That always seems to work better.

There is a third possibility and depends on where the dish is located, so that its aim gets affected by a passing object or something else affecting the aim to the satellite. One time when my satellite "went dark" I found that heavy rain had softened the soil so much that the tripod I used was no longer stable - a stake or water containers to stabilize wouldn't have helped because the weakening was so severe. I have a feeling you've already checked the aim. Fortunately my dish has two LNBs, so when I need to I can use the other LNB to ensure my satellite signal integrity.

Cyrus
05-14-2009, 05:43 AM
I find this happens when you are looking at the wrong satellite, my meter will peg then go to zero then peg again. I have noticed that the antenna has to be set more precise, azmuth & elevation then a year ago. If you are not touching the wires when this is hapening I don't think you have cable problems.

The last time I had problems I had to press the reset button on the box. The antenna was set ok per the meter but no reception. After the reset was complete I had reception.

Hope this helps

jjackflash
05-14-2009, 10:11 AM
Several times I've set my dish to the point I am getting at least a 94 reading but no picture,at that point I hit the reset button on the receiver and wallah!
Jack

cmawendy
05-15-2009, 04:23 AM
We finally got it to work after about 2 hours. Direct tv was telling us to point it at the wrong satellite :)
Thanks for all the suggestions.

richfaa
05-15-2009, 04:38 AM
Use this http://www.directv.com/DTVAPP/customer/dishPointer.jsp

cmawendy
05-15-2009, 06:33 AM
Ok thanks