Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > General Discussions about our Montanas
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-11-2018, 06:59 AM   #1
rollingdownthehighway
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Torrington
Posts: 148
M.O.C. #20273
it's on the way, and a question

Just got word, our rig is coming off of the line today. So, I have a question, we're going to get a 50amp plug installed at the house, though this won't be done until after the rig is here, so in the mean time, can I use my 30amp plug with the adpater to plug into my house as I do with our TT or do I need to use the 50amp plug with a 50 to 30 adapter, then the adapter to the house?
__________________
Mike
2016 Chevy CC DRW Duramax
2019 Montana 3700LK
rollingdownthehighway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2018, 07:07 AM   #2
WeBeFulltime
Montana Master
 
WeBeFulltime's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Hixson
Posts: 3,059
M.O.C. #11397
As long as your existing 30A is properly wired for an RV it will be fine with an adapter to use on new Monty. You just won't be able to use everything at once using 30A only.
__________________
2018.5 Montana 3791RD
2012 F350 SRW 6.7 PSD

Full Timing since September 1, 2010
WeBeFulltime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2018, 07:11 AM   #3
DQDick
Montana Master
 
DQDick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wilsey
Posts: 16,709
M.O.C. #11455
You should be fine with the 30amp next to your house. It's when you want to run both AC units or use the microwave, coffee pot and hair dryer that problems may arise, but then you just have to reset the breaker. Just make sure that whoever wires the 50amp knows the difference between RV's and home wiring.
DQDick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2018, 07:17 AM   #4
rollingdownthehighway
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Torrington
Posts: 148
M.O.C. #20273
Quote:
Originally Posted by DQDick View Post
You should be fine with the 30amp next to your house. It's when you want to run both AC units or use the microwave, coffee pot and hair dryer that problems may arise, but then you just have to reset the breaker. Just make sure that whoever wires the 50amp knows the difference between RV's and home wiring.
We just plug the TT in now to load it and unload it, we don't run the AC's now while it's parked, as of now, we don't plan on using them on the Monty when loading or unloading. Unless the kids decide to driveway camp in it, then the AC's won't be on
__________________
Mike
2016 Chevy CC DRW Duramax
2019 Montana 3700LK
rollingdownthehighway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2018, 10:12 AM   #5
mtlakejim
Montana Master
 
mtlakejim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Bee Branch
Posts: 2,164
M.O.C. #20693
You should be fine

I hope your parking spot is far enough away from house to allow for slides and possible Moyrride steps?
__________________
James & Irene Wilson
Bee Branch, AR.
2017 Ram 1 ton diesel duallyCrew Cab/Long Bed
2018 Montana High Country 381TH Garage Full of Toys
mtlakejim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2018, 10:23 AM   #6
rollingdownthehighway
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Torrington
Posts: 148
M.O.C. #20273
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtlakejim View Post
You should be fine

I hope your parking spot is far enough away from house to allow for slides and possible Moyrride steps?
Our TT is parked next to the house now and I have the slides out with room to spare. If the slides fit, the steps will go down.
__________________
Mike
2016 Chevy CC DRW Duramax
2019 Montana 3700LK
rollingdownthehighway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2018, 10:28 AM   #7
twindman
Montana Master
 
twindman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Mesa
Posts: 1,566
M.O.C. #5651
Must be nice!! My driveway is about 30 feet long and the HOA says only 48 hours in front of the house and then must move it at least 200 feet for 2 days at least! Makes it a pain to have to do work on it, etc and storage is 20 minutes away. And if you are working at storage you have to take the whole tool chest and more.
Well, enough belly aching!!
__________________

Tom and Gail
2013 Mountaineer 362
2012 Silverado 2500
twindman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2018, 05:17 PM   #8
MARK A
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: STAYTON
Posts: 813
M.O.C. #18157
Quote:
Originally Posted by rollingdownthehighway View Post
Just got word, our rig is coming off of the line today. So, I have a question, we're going to get a 50amp plug installed at the house, though this won't be done until after the rig is here, so in the mean time, can I use my 30amp plug with the adpater to plug into my house as I do with our TT or do I need to use the 50amp plug with a 50 to 30 adapter, then the adapter to the house?
You can run everything you need for storage off of a 20A extension cord. Itís plenty for your converter/charger.

Mark
MARK A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2018, 06:50 AM   #9
RoadRunnerTR21
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Trinidad, TX
Posts: 478
M.O.C. #20746
It will be no problem. We have a 30 amp hookup in our RV garage and it stays powered all the time while home. If needed we can run 1 of the AC units. Sometimes I go out there and watch satellite TV. It's my dog house.
__________________
2018 Ram 3500 Laramie Longhorn 4X4 Dually Cummins Aisin CC LB / B&W Companion hitch
50 Gallon Transfer Flow in bed tank w/ Trax 3
2018 Montana 3121RL
RoadRunnerTR21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Montana RV, Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×