Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > General Discussions about our Montanas
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-04-2017, 12:00 PM   #1
Duramax
Established Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Montello
Posts: 33
M.O.C. #19941
Is it ok to run A/C while hooked up to house power?

If gotten different advice on this. I just brought my Montana highcountry home yesterday. I have it hooked up to house right now. We are trying to get everything organized in there but is so hot. I haven't used the ac because I always heard it could damage them? Is this true?
Duramax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2017, 12:27 PM   #2
rohrmann
Montana Master
 
rohrmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Box Elder
Posts: 1,717
M.O.C. #12947
It depends on what size circuit you are plugged into. If it's only a 15 amp outlet, don't even try it. If you have a 30 amp or 50 amp RV outlet that you are connected to, you can run your A/C. If you plan on having your rig connected when loading or unloading regularly, you might consider having the proper outlet installed if you don't have one now. You can also use a generator if you have a large enough one.
__________________
Bob & Becky
2012 3402RL
2012 Chevy 2500HD D/A CC 4WD
rohrmann is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2017, 12:32 PM   #3
mlh
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Salem
Posts: 3,434
M.O.C. #2283
I just installed a 15000 BTU Coleman AC on my motor home. It was pulling 16 amps on startup and 2.5 amps running. I don't see how you could hurt anything with a large enough cord. To be sure check the voltage in side the camper with the AC running.
Lynwood of
mlh is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2017, 12:55 PM   #4
waynemoore
Montana Master
 
waynemoore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lake Havasu City
Posts: 936
M.O.C. #10552
When I had the house built I had a 50 amp RV service installed along with a dump station. I can run both ACs at the same time. Maks it nice because we can use the RV for exter sleeping space when we have lots of guests.
waynemoore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2017, 02:03 PM   #5
dfb
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Gardnerville
Posts: 260
M.O.C. #17163
I have turned the 15k on via a long extension cord to the house...no problems. If the circuit trips then it's too much..
dfb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2017, 02:47 PM   #6
1retired06
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Lake Gaston
Posts: 6,384
M.O.C. #12156
Quote:
Originally Posted by rohrmann View Post
It depends on what size circuit you are plugged into. If it's only a 15 amp outlet, don't even try it. If you have a 30 amp or 50 amp RV outlet that you are connected to, you can run your A/C. If you plan on having your rig connected when loading or unloading regularly, you might consider having the proper outlet installed if you don't have one now. You can also use a generator if you have a large enough one.
Right on. Not designed for 15amp operation
__________________
Mike and Lorraine
2002 3655 FL, 2005 3650RK
2010 3665RE, 2015 3910FB
F350 crew cab dually 6.7
1retired06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2017, 03:04 PM   #7
BB_TX
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: McKinney
Posts: 4,118
M.O.C. #6433
I have run my 15k rear A/C on a 20 amp house circuit with no problem. But it will trip a 15 amp circuit.
__________________
Bill & Patricia
& Molly (our 11 yr old Golden)
2007 3075RL
2012 F350 SRW CC LB FX4 6.7
BB_TX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2017, 03:46 PM   #8
twindman
Montana Master
 
twindman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Mesa
Posts: 986
M.O.C. #5651
Ditto to BB TX. However, I will add that the drop cord gets pretty hot. I think part of the problem was I used the 50 amp with 30 then 15 amp adapters. Then a 50 foot drop cord. I think the resistance gets quite high with that length, and with higher resistance you get higher amps required.
I live in Mesa, AZ and when it is around 100 outside, the amps used by A/C goes up quite a bit. In the cool morning (ha cool - 80 degrees) it only pulls about 16 at start up and then 13 or 14. But after a while it pulls 15 - 16 all the time. I now have a 30 amp RV line and no worries...
__________________

Tom and Gail
2013 Mountaineer 362
2012 Silverado 2500
twindman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2017, 04:03 PM   #9
richfaa
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Ridgeville
Posts: 18,281
M.O.C. #2839
We have 50 amp service here at the S&B and we can run one A/C ok on 30 amps never tried it on anything less.
richfaa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2017, 05:55 PM   #10
dfb
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Gardnerville
Posts: 260
M.O.C. #17163
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfb View Post
I have turned the 15k on via a long extension cord to the house...no problems. If the circuit trips then it's too much..
It may be a 20 amp plug....
dfb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2017, 01:03 AM   #11
maximo
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ione
Posts: 567
M.O.C. #11371
Built a 24 ft x 50 ft metal building and installed a 50 amp service. Also installed 6 LED lights on the ceiling and 4 110 volt plugs on each wall. Can run both AC units and can work and repair anything day or night.
maximo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2017, 07:31 AM   #12
psomers
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Northport
Posts: 394
M.O.C. #12724
I have a dedicated run for RV. I have a 30A breaker, romex 10/2 W/G and a 30A RV receptacle. I connect with a 30 to 50 amp receptacle. I can run one A/C all day with no problem. Wiring and connectors stay cool. Wouldn't try both A/Cs though.
PS: 10 gauge is 30 amp rated not 12 or 14 gauge.
psomers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2017, 11:29 AM   #13
mjammersc
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Fort Wayne
Posts: 361
M.O.C. #17609
Here is link to how to wire a 30A receptacle. Home Depot & Lowes carry the box usually. You can also do 50A but the wiring and cable runs are more complex/critical. For loading/unloading and basic setup powering, 30A works for me - just run one AC only.


http://www.myrv.us/Imgs/PDF/30-amp%20Service.pdf
__________________
2016 Montana 3160RL
855W Solar System, TriStar MPPT-60 Controller, Magnum 2800W Inverter, 6 Trojan T-105REs
MOR/Ryde Independent Suspension and Disc Brakes & Storage Tray
2015 Chevy Duramax SRW SB Crew Cab
mjammersc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2017, 11:30 AM   #14
mjammersc
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Fort Wayne
Posts: 361
M.O.C. #17609
Here is the 50A diagram/info if you want that


http://www.myrv.us/Imgs/PDF/50-amp%20Service.pdf
__________________
2016 Montana 3160RL
855W Solar System, TriStar MPPT-60 Controller, Magnum 2800W Inverter, 6 Trojan T-105REs
MOR/Ryde Independent Suspension and Disc Brakes & Storage Tray
2015 Chevy Duramax SRW SB Crew Cab
mjammersc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2017, 11:27 AM   #15
kozzy
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Brewerton
Posts: 321
M.O.C. #18144
I installed a 30 AMP outlet when I had the house built, plenty to run 1 ac and some other things. Minimum, you can run 1 ac on a 20 AMP circuit, not a 15 though
kozzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2017, 10:25 PM   #16
dieselguy
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Haysville
Posts: 3,179
M.O.C. #3085
mlh ... your 15K A/C will pull more like 14 - 16 amps running if the compressor is on. 2.5 amps was the fan draw with the compressor cycled off.
dieselguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2017, 04:08 PM   #17
WaltBennett
Montana Master
 
WaltBennett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Haymarket
Posts: 1,356
M.O.C. #13325
I've run our 15k btu on a 20 amp circuit for years at home. Works fine - but I don't use anything else.
__________________
WaltBennett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2017, 04:26 PM   #18
navybanker
Montana Fan
 
navybanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northwest Tennessee
Posts: 341
M.O.C. #10884
Have a 30 amp to 15 amp adapter. Usually plugged into 20 amp receptacle at home. Have not attempted to run AC on this connection. Wondering if need a true/safe 30 to 20 amp adapter. Searched the internet and have not found what I think is a true 30 to 20 just 30 to 15. The ones I use are the "yellow" adapters with a short length of wire and not the small black ones like sold at Walmart.
__________________

2017 Montana 3611
2012 Chevy 2500
navybanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2017, 10:06 PM   #19
Buckeye83
Established Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Medina
Posts: 14
M.O.C. #18867
We added a 50 amp plug for our last rig and use it 2-3 weeks a month through the summer. We run both a/c's and fridge.

Just make sure when you add breakers to your home panel you try to balance the load on the panels bus bars.
Buckeye83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2017, 08:11 PM   #20
Slufoot733
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wampum
Posts: 469
M.O.C. #9928
Bought one of these: http://www.campingworld.com/shopping...x-30-amp/20811 several years ago and installed it on my outside garage wall. Worked great for operating the A/C and other appliances.
Slufoot733 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.