Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > General Discussions about our Montanas
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-23-2017, 01:04 PM   #1
milsutter
Established Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Granite Bay
Posts: 42
M.O.C. #17499
Send a message via AIM to milsutter Send a message via MSN to milsutter
Gravity fill outlet

I have a 2017 3790RD and cannot find where you fill the water tank with a garden hose? Anybody have an idea? There is a valve for the pressure fill, but no gravity fill.
milsutter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2017, 01:09 PM   #2
jcurtis934
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Pensacola (mail forward service)
Posts: 2,091
M.O.C. #13740
There isn't one. If you are hooked to a water source, you can turn the valve in the center from normal flow position to the tank fill position. If you aren't hooked to a water source, then you can utilize the winterizing inlet to do the job. Refer to previous posts on this or someone will come along to give you details on how it is done. John
jcurtis934 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2017, 01:32 AM   #3
JandC
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Cape Coral
Posts: 2,165
M.O.C. #13272
I could never get used to not having the gravity fill. Our first used Montana had one, then we bought a new 2014 model and discovered it didn't. If an RV has a OEM whole house filter and the manufacturer doesn't want to run all the extra plumbing then I can sort of understand not providing a gravity fill. But my Montana didn't have an OEM whole house filter so it sure wasn't costing Keystone much money to stay with the simple gravity fill.

Our gas MH, which isn't really high end, has both gravity fill and a OEM whole house filter. It sure makes it easier to add whatever I want to my freshwater tank.
__________________
Camping: where you spend a small fortune to live like a homeless person.
JandC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2017, 05:43 AM   #4
WaltBennett
Montana Master
 
WaltBennett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Haymarket
Posts: 1,305
M.O.C. #13325
I wouldn't be without one. I've been told you can pop the cover off the air vent (at least there IS one of those!) and use it to fill with a hose. Since there's no way to vent the air then, that might be a bit difficult. Since there is that vent though (unless they did away with that too), I'd think it wouldn't be all that difficult to replace the vent with a fill assembly. Might have to work some plumbing magic, but it should work.
__________________
WaltBennett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2017, 08:52 AM   #5
milsutter
Established Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Granite Bay
Posts: 42
M.O.C. #17499
Send a message via AIM to milsutter Send a message via MSN to milsutter
Thanks for all your input. I was looking for a way to sanitize the tank, so I guess the only way to do that is through the vent opening.
milsutter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2017, 08:53 AM   #6
milsutter
Established Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Granite Bay
Posts: 42
M.O.C. #17499
Send a message via AIM to milsutter Send a message via MSN to milsutter
I could sanitize it through the winterizing inlet, couln't I?
milsutter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2017, 10:27 AM   #7
tooth ferry
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Pell City
Posts: 174
M.O.C. #17209
Easy to pop vent cover off, take out screen and pour water in with a funnel, or pump in with a small pump . Vent cover on mine is on street side near the back. Pull up and out.
tooth ferry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2017, 10:50 AM   #8
PackerFan
Montana Master
 
PackerFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Pahrump, Nevada
Posts: 2,461
M.O.C. #1081
Using the vent would seem like a good idea except the fact that our vent was glued on at the factory so that pretty much ruled that method out for us!
__________________
Scott & Sue - Full-Timers Since October 2012!
Life long Cheeseheads & Shareholders!
2016 RAM 3500 Laramie, Dually. 2013 Montana 3725RL
PackerFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2017, 12:26 PM   #9
dieselguy
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Haysville
Posts: 3,116
M.O.C. #3085
Just pour Clorox in the water hose before you hook it up to your water inlet, turn the valve to allow water to go to your fresh water tank ... turn on the hydrant.
dieselguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2017, 02:28 PM   #10
Fire5er
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Port Orchard
Posts: 1,138
M.O.C. #3403
I do it like dieselguy...just pour it in the hose prior to connecting it to the city water inlet.
Fire5er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2017, 12:03 PM   #11
Mark N.
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Ogden
Posts: 531
M.O.C. #13862
On my '13 3400 RL, the vent cover that several are talking about being easy to pop off, isn't! It is sealed on by RTV and would need to be cut off.
Mark N. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2017, 01:25 AM   #12
speedster100
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: owen sound
Posts: 176
M.O.C. #17566
on our 2015 3790RD the vent cover pops right off, discovered while washing it the first time. As previously identified use the winterizing feature to fill tank and/or chlorinate the system. Easy and no spillage, you can use the outside shower hose for the suction line.
speedster100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2017, 05:18 AM   #13
whiterose
Established Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Flushing
Posts: 18
M.O.C. #18353
Quote:
quote:Originally posted by milsutter

I have a 2017 3790RD and cannot find where you fill the water tank with a garden hose? Anybody have an idea? There is a valve for the pressure fill, but no gravity fill.
On the 3790 there is a vent behind the number plate. In the vent is a filter which would have to be removed before using a hose or funnel. Too much trouble to remove the number plate each time, I use the winterizing connection.
whiterose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2017, 08:59 AM   #14
artfuldodger
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Chatsworth
Posts: 192
M.O.C. #10933
I.ve filled via the winterize port many times but on our 2017 it is no longer possible according to the sticker inside the water centre. I also can no longer gravity fill through the vent hole at the back because the water backs up and will not let the tank vent. It then burps and blows water out. If you feed the water in very slowly it will fill but it will take a very long time to fill an empty tank.
artfuldodger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2017, 09:52 PM   #15
milsutter
Established Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Granite Bay
Posts: 42
M.O.C. #17499
Send a message via AIM to milsutter Send a message via MSN to milsutter
Thanks everyone for your responses. I ended up pouring the chlorine in through the vent hole, but was a slow process. Glad I didn't have to fill the tank that way.
milsutter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2017, 05:06 AM   #16
WeBeFulltime
Montana Master
 
WeBeFulltime's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Hixson
Posts: 2,096
M.O.C. #11397
I guess we lucked out because our 2012 had the pressure fill and the gravity fill. Must have been built during the changeover period.
__________________
2012 MONTANA 3585SA
2012 F350 SRW 6.7 PSD

Full Timing since September 1, 2010
WeBeFulltime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2017, 06:28 AM   #17
dieselguy
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Haysville
Posts: 3,116
M.O.C. #3085
Milsutter ... next time do like was mentioned earlier in this thread ... just pour the sanitizer in your water hose and use the fresh water fill valve in your convenience center. It takes way less patience and accomplishes the same end result.
dieselguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2017, 06:35 AM   #18
c214dick
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Winthrop Harbor
Posts: 1,679
M.O.C. #8160
Quote:
Originally Posted by PackerFan View Post
Using the vent would seem like a good idea except the fact that our vent was glued on at the factory so that pretty much ruled that method out for us!
Our vent cover slides up and off. Not glued.
c214dick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2017, 08:45 PM   #19
93STPD
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Mattituck
Posts: 2
M.O.C. #19191
I have a 2014 Montana Mountaineer 345DBQ. I just got it in September. I want to fill my freshwater and I know I have to use the city water inlet to do it. My question is, where is the vent normally on these rigs? I have no way of knowing its full. I guess I'll find it when it starts blowing water out of it. Lol
93STPD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2017, 10:01 PM   #20
c214dick
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Winthrop Harbor
Posts: 1,679
M.O.C. #8160
If it's like mine you have an overflow vent towards the left rear. When it's full your overflow will let you know
c214dick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Newbie fresh tank gravity fill question Dutch camper General Discussions about our Montanas 9 09-05-2016 03:34 PM
SeaLand Gravity Discharge Toliet 8e3k0 General Discussions about our Montanas 6 03-04-2015 02:12 PM
help/clarification on the "no gravity water fill" Mark N. General Discussions about our Montanas 21 09-04-2014 11:59 AM
Sanitizing without a Gravity Fill Cap ChiefKB Montana Problems, Problem Solving & Technical Help 9 08-15-2013 06:48 PM
Do this at your next fill up... Bill-N-Donna Let Us Entertain You 10 05-18-2013 07:41 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.