Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > General Discussions about our Montanas
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-01-2015, 10:57 AM   #1
trlrboy
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: rockwall
Posts: 335
M.O.C. #7697
Circuits on 3400RL

In my 3400RL I have 50 amp service. Is this on one circuit for the whole trailer or are there separate circuits. I am clueless about electric.
trlrboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2015, 11:53 AM   #2
iowaone
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Dubuque
Posts: 190
M.O.C. #8421
Yup heave 2 50 amp legs or circuits
iowaone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2015, 12:40 PM   #3
Ozz
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: K.C.
Posts: 11,731
M.O.C. #5980
What are you planning to do? or is it just a curious question?
The panel should do whatever you need on the trailer. Get a competent electrician to do any changes or additions, a RV service tech may not be the best option, they come with all levels of skills and experience in wiring, high and low.
Ozz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2015, 12:44 PM   #4
Tom S.
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Waterford
Posts: 3,693
M.O.C. #7500
Just like your house has two 120 v legs for a total of 240 volts, so does your trailer. The 4 prong plug has two hot prongs (120v each), one neutral prong and one ground. So half of the trailer is on one side of the plug and the other half is on the other side of the plug. And since you are self admittedly clueless about electricity, please don't mess with it until you ask here first!!!
Tom S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2015, 02:37 PM   #5
jlb27537
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Depends on temps
Posts: 1,648
M.O.C. #13157
What Tom said.
__________________

2012 Ram Laramie 3500 DRW 4x4 3.73 Tow Max Pkg B&W Companion 60 gal RDS aux fuel tank. 2014 Montana 3150RL, 2 A/C's, Leather, 6 Point Jacks, Splendede WD2100XC, Mor/ryde X-Factor, Duravis 250 tires with TST 507RV monitors. 2 x Honda EU2000's
jlb27537 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2015, 02:58 PM   #6
Irlpguy
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Chilliwack
Posts: 1,519
M.O.C. #12935
Quote:
quote:Originally posted by trlrboy

In my 3400RL I have 50 amp service. Is this on one circuit for the whole trailer or are there separate circuits. I am clueless about electric.
Your RV power distribution box with 50 amp service will use a double pole 50 amp breaker, each half of this breaker provides power to a separate Bus bar, these separate bus bars hold the 15 and 20 amp breakers that are used to protect all the RV's circuits.

Power entering the RV on the 4 wire conduit is 240V (if you were to measure the voltage across the two hot wires), that means there is 120V on each of the two hot wires coming into the RV. these are connected to the double 50amp breaker (one on each half) providing you with 120V and 50amps on each side of your breaker, one hot feeding one bus, the other hot the other bus.

So in effect you have 100 amps of usable power to power up all the circuits in the RV.

Here is a link that may explain it more, but if your question was, do you have one or more 50amp circuits, then yes you do, you have two 50amp circuits. I did not get the impression you were intending to perform work on your electrical, but would advise you to try to understand how it works but let a professional do any changes to any part of it.

LINK: http://nelageo.net/index.php?option=...4863&Itemid=54
Irlpguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2015, 05:26 PM   #7
DQDick
Montana Master
 
DQDick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wilsey
Posts: 16,726
M.O.C. #11455
Just to further confuse you, you also have a 12v system. Your converter takes the 110 coming in and converts it to 12v to recharge your batteries and power the things the battery would power if you weren't connected to shore power. That would be most of your lighting, the controls for your frig, water heater and AC units as well as whatever type of leveling system you have and probably several things I've forgotten.
__________________
Dick, Joyce, Diego, Picatso and Gustav
2017 3720 RL, MorRyde pin box
2017 3500 Dodge Maxi DRW 4X4, Pullrite Hitch, IS, Disk Brakes, 3rd AC, Winegard Traveler, Bathroom door mod, Dometic 320, couch for desk swap, etc.
DQDick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2015, 01:56 AM   #8
WaltBennett
Montana Master
 
WaltBennett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Haymarket
Posts: 1,446
M.O.C. #13325
Quote:
quote:Originally posted by iowaone

Yup heave 2 50 amp legs or circuits
NO, you've got two separate 30 amp 120 volt circuits that come into your breaker box, to a two pole breaker with each going to separate sets of breakers. I absolutely know this as I rewired mine when installing solar and an inverter that feeds just one of these circuits with a transfer switch. The other is only fed by shore power. I had to swap a few inside circuits from one leg to the other to be certain I would be running on battery/inverter power on just the things I wanted.

Further, there's NO 240 volts anywhere, and if you hook your trailer up to a 240 volt source, you'll fry lots of things.
__________________
WaltBennett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2015, 03:15 AM   #9
Tom S.
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Waterford
Posts: 3,693
M.O.C. #7500
Quote:
quote:Originally posted by WaltBennett

Quote:
quote:Originally posted by iowaone

Yup heave 2 50 amp legs or circuits
NO, you've got two separate 30 amp 120 volt circuits that come into your breaker box, to a two pole breaker with each going to separate sets of breakers. I absolutely know this as I rewired mine when installing solar and an inverter that feeds just one of these circuits with a transfer switch. The other is only fed by shore power. I had to swap a few inside circuits from one leg to the other to be certain I would be running on battery/inverter power on just the things I wanted.

Further, there's NO 240 volts anywhere, and if you hook your trailer up to a 240 volt source, you'll fry lots of things.
Sorry, but you are confused. The trailer is wired just like your house. Your house has two 120 lines and a neutral. So technically, there is no 240 in your house either - until you hook the two 120's together, not literally, but use them both to power a 240 appliance. The 50 amp plug at campgrounds is a 240 outlet with 120 on each of the power sides of the plug, along with 50 amps on each side. Don't take my word for it though, ask Jim Fischer or Ozz.

Maybe these will clear it up for you:
http://www.myrv.us/electric/pg/50amp_service.htm
http://www.rvpowerprotection.com/Lin...%20Service.pdf
http://www.ehow.com/how_7688362_wire...ervice-rv.html
http://www.rv-motorhome-answers.com/AC-Electricity.html
Tom S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2015, 04:52 AM   #10
BB_TX
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: McKinney
Posts: 5,251
M.O.C. #6433
Tom is right. It is exactly like house wiring, 4 wire, hot 1, hot 2, neutral, and ground. It does have 240 vac coming in, but it is used internally as two 120 vac lines. Few 5ers use anything needing 240 vac, but some larger motor homes do sometimes have 240 vac devices. Although some people have installed 240 vac clothes dryers in their 5ers.
__________________
Bill & Patricia

2007 3075RL
2012 F350 SRW CC LB FX4 6.7
BB_TX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2015, 04:54 AM   #11
Irlpguy
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Chilliwack
Posts: 1,519
M.O.C. #12935
Walt I am sorry but you are incorrect, if you measure the voltage across the two hot wires into a unit wired for 50amps you will have 240 volts.

Measuring from one side of the double 50amp breaker in your panel to neutral will give you 120V, the same as the other side. Although 240V is not used in our Montana's it is nonetheless there at the panel and "could" be used to power a 240V dryer for instance.

For simplicity sake for the OP and to answer his question as I did, he does indeed have two 50amp separate circuits in his trailer.

trlrboy is not going to become an electrician with the information learned here, keep it simple.

Irlpguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2015, 05:37 AM   #12
Ozz
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: K.C.
Posts: 11,731
M.O.C. #5980

Might help a little:

http://www.nojolt.com/Understanding_...circuits.shtml

Ozz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2015, 05:53 AM   #13
Phil P
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Okeechobee
Posts: 2,141
M.O.C. #11206
Iripguy

You don’t add the amps on the 2 legs.

Here is how it works

120 V X 50 amp = 6,000 watts.

Now just for this example you can add the 2 6,000 watt figures and come up with 12,000 watts.

Now you have a 240 v single phase system. You load it to 50 amps

240 X 50 amps = 12,000 watts.

If the load is equal inductance loads then the natural doesn’t carry any electricity.

So that means that if you load more than 50 amps in the trailer you will trip a 50 amp breaker.

You have only 50 amps available for use in the trailer.

Phil P

Disclaimer:

This example is a “class room” example there are several other factors involved to determine you “power factor” so for the electrical engineers here on the forum I know it is a simplification of a complex equation.
__________________
2009 Montana 3665RE
2009 Duramax 3500 DRW quad cab
personal web page https://www.sallyscoffees.com
If you get a page not available then remove the "s" after HTTP
Phil P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2015, 07:17 AM   #14
jcurtis934
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Pensacola (mail forward service)
Posts: 2,858
M.O.C. #13740
If one only had 30 amps available...then the breakers in your internal panel, which is part of the converter assy, would be two 30 amp breakers instead of the two 50 amp breakers installed. I could believe that there are some rv parks that might have wired their pedestals to only have 30 amps on each leg. John
__________________
2012 F350 6.7 L dually, 2013 3800RE with 6 pt leveling, Sumitomo 17.5" load range h tires, Samsung 18 cu ft residential fridge, 8k Morryde I.S. with disc brakes. Full timing since 2012.
jcurtis934 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2015, 08:28 AM   #15
BB_TX
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: McKinney
Posts: 5,251
M.O.C. #6433
Quote:
quote:Originally posted by Phil P

Iripguy

You don’t add the amps on the 2 legs.

Here is how it works

120 V X 50 amp = 6,000 watts.

Now just for this example you can add the 2 6,000 watt figures and come up with 12,000 watts.

Now you have a 240 v single phase system. You load it to 50 amps

240 X 50 amps = 12,000 watts.

If the load is equal inductance loads then the natural doesn’t carry any electricity.

So that means that if you load more than 50 amps in the trailer you will trip a 50 amp breaker.

You have only 50 amps available for use in the trailer.

Phil P

Disclaimer:

This example is a “class room” example there are several other factors involved to determine you “power factor” so for the electrical engineers here on the forum I know it is a simplification of a complex equation.
Actually you do add the two legs together. You can have up to 50 amps on hot leg 1. And you can have another 50 amps on hot leg 2. At the same time. So you could have up to 100 amps of 120 vac actually in service. But no more than 50 amps of 240 vac. You would never have more than 50 amps thru any individual circuit.

You are correct that if you have equal loads on both legs there is nothing flowing thru the neutral due to the phase difference. If you have 50 amps on one leg and none on the other, then you have 50 amps thru the neutral. As you add amps to the second leg while maintaining 50 amps thru the first leg, the amps thru the neutral diminish in equal amounts to the amps added thru the second leg.

If for some reason you ran two separate neutral wires back to the source, one for hot 1 and 1 for hot 2, you could have up to 50 amps flowing thru each neutral at the same time, but in opposite phases.
__________________
Bill & Patricia

2007 3075RL
2012 F350 SRW CC LB FX4 6.7
BB_TX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2015, 09:26 AM   #16
trlrboy
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: rockwall
Posts: 335
M.O.C. #7697
I'm not looking to change anything. I was planning to run my fireplace (1500W heater) and a separate heater, also 1500W. I just wanted to know if I plug the second heater into a plug in the same area as the fireplace... will I blow a circuit?
trlrboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2015, 09:43 AM   #17
bncinwv
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Winfield
Posts: 7,326
M.O.C. #6846
Worse case is you will trip a breaker. Then you will know that you had a bit much on that circuit.
Bingo
__________________

Bingo and Cathy - Our adventures begin in the hills of WV. We are blessed by our 2014 3850FL Big Sky (previous 2011 3750FL and 2007 3400RL) that we pull with a 2007 Chevy Silverado Classic DRW CC dually.
bncinwv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2015, 10:19 AM   #18
BB_TX
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: McKinney
Posts: 5,251
M.O.C. #6433
If anything at all you are more likely to trip one of the sub breakers in your breaker panel.
__________________
Bill & Patricia

2007 3075RL
2012 F350 SRW CC LB FX4 6.7
BB_TX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2015, 10:33 AM   #19
Phil P
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Okeechobee
Posts: 2,141
M.O.C. #11206
Hi

Sorry it doesn’t work that way in the US.

We are talking about the standard 240v single phase power provided to a home or commercial operation in the US.

The 240v single phase 50 amp or 300 amp services uses a center tap transformer. It will not make any difference how many wires you run to the neutral you cannot exceed circuit amps on the neutral or in this discussion 50 amps total for the entire circuit.

Phil P
__________________
2009 Montana 3665RE
2009 Duramax 3500 DRW quad cab
personal web page https://www.sallyscoffees.com
If you get a page not available then remove the "s" after HTTP
Phil P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2015, 10:35 AM   #20
Phil P
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Okeechobee
Posts: 2,141
M.O.C. #11206
Hi Bingo

You got it correct. When the breaker trips you have exceeded the capacity of the circuit. LOL

Phil P
__________________
2009 Montana 3665RE
2009 Duramax 3500 DRW quad cab
personal web page https://www.sallyscoffees.com
If you get a page not available then remove the "s" after HTTP
Phil P is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interconnected circuits in 2005 3400RL miklman Montana Problems, Problem Solving & Technical Help 13 05-08-2013 02:54 AM
3400RL Don57 General Discussions about our Montanas 19 03-12-2010 09:52 AM
3400RL jayers General Discussions about our Montanas 10 02-17-2005 03:14 PM
3400RL Montana_385 General Discussions about our Montanas 0 11-06-2003 02:49 PM
Electrical Circuits sreigle What I'd like to say if... 0 10-22-2003 05:45 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Montana RV, Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×