Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > MONTANA OWNERS CLUB COMMUNITY > New Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-15-2013, 04:49 AM   #1
gkidsdlite
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Davis
Posts: 183
M.O.C. #12956
installing shore power at S&B

Do any of you know what is required to have your own electric hookup at home? Do you need a separate elec service to have the 50 amp plugin? Trying to plan ahead and have everything in place for fulltimin at what was our home in N IL and will be one of the places we park our home on wheels.
gkidsdlite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2013, 04:51 AM   #2
gkidsdlite
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Davis
Posts: 183
M.O.C. #12956
oops got it on the wrong topic line "Rookie mistake" sorry!!
gkidsdlite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2013, 05:45 AM   #3
NCFischers
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New Bern
Posts: 4,100
M.O.C. #8728
Send a message via Yahoo to NCFischers
I sent you a PM
NCFischers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2013, 07:34 AM   #4
8.1al
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Benson
Posts: 3,098
M.O.C. #1658
Jim will give you all the info you need.
8.1al is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2013, 06:37 PM   #5
Petmoose
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Denton
Posts: 211
M.O.C. #12532
If its not too much trouble I would appreciate a cc on that info as well.

Thanks
Petmoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2013, 07:43 PM   #6
c214dick
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Winthrop Harbor
Posts: 1,687
M.O.C. #8160
Our friends son is an electrician. $350 later and we had a dedicated 50 amp plug for monte. That included all materials including the breaker and labor.
c214dick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2013, 07:46 PM   #7
Art-n-Marge
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Murrieta
Posts: 5,816
M.O.C. #9257
Send a message via MSN to Art-n-Marge Send a message via Yahoo to Art-n-Marge
My rig only needs 30 amp since I don't have the W/D, 2nd A/C or other appliance that used lots of amps. I can setup my rig as extra lodging and will use my dual gennies to provide 30 amp during the day. (I don't run them at night in case my area has a noise ordinance and extra power is not needed at night). I mostly use the 20 amp circuit off my garage to run the Battery minder and provide minor lighting or power as it sits on the driveway.

If I was gonna go through the effort of running a new circuit for my rig, I would just go for 50 amp, since I'd have to run new line out to the garage to support it anyway and not take away from what is already there.

Regarding the rest of the post, if you have room in the existing electrical panel then go for 50 amp. I'd have to rely on an electrician since I'm not comfortable with what would be for me, some major routing and panel work. I recently used some panel space to add solar panels to the house so I don't think I have much left.

Others should be along to describe those requirements. I would definitely pay $350 for this work from the prior post, but I do realize the cost can site dependent.
Art-n-Marge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 08:15 AM   #8
Denfinger
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Nashville
Posts: 118
M.O.C. #13210
I think you can save some money by going with a 30 AMP unless you feel you need to run everything on your unit at one time including both AC's. The box, wire, breakers, connectors are all cheaper for 30 than 50 amp. Our electrician installed it for 150 plus about 35 dollars for the box and breaker and he supplied the wire.
Denfinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 04:44 PM   #9
jimcol
Montana Master
 
jimcol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 1,668
M.O.C. #7992
Send a message via AIM to jimcol Send a message via MSN to jimcol
Most of the time the expense is in the labor and the labor is close to the same for 50 or 30 amp service. The additional cost for materials is not very much. Sometimes a few dollars is all that seperates the two. If paying to have it done ask for a quote both ways before deciding. Jim
__________________
2006 3000RK
2009 Ram 2500
jimcol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 04:49 PM   #10
DQDick
Montana Master
 
DQDick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wilsey
Posts: 15,169
M.O.C. #11455
I looked at both and since I was doing the wiring myself went with 50amps.
__________________
Dick and Joyce
2017 3720 RL
2011 Dodge Maxi Cab
3rd AC, Bathroom door mod, etc.
DQDick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unable to run 15 amp shore power RidgecrestDad Montana Problems, Problem Solving & Technical Help 21 10-18-2009 10:07 AM
Shore Power Testing BB_TX Montana Problems, Problem Solving & Technical Help 3 08-30-2009 07:36 AM
No shore power William Schelling Montana Problems, Problem Solving & Technical Help 26 10-21-2008 01:05 PM
Shore Power hookman Montana Problems, Problem Solving & Technical Help 8 09-15-2006 11:55 AM
Shore Power Connector mmrxboss Additions & Improvements 2 09-22-2005 09:46 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Montana RV, Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.