Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > MOC on M.A.R.S. > Additions & Improvements
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-27-2009, 07:55 AM   #1
Jdrobone
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Wilsons
Posts: 396
M.O.C. #9833
Autoformer

I'm doing the preliminary research to install a Hughes autoformer into my 2010 3400RL. Typically, what is the most common mounting location?
I re-read my original post and it was kinda dumb!
Jerry
Jdrobone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2009, 09:07 AM   #2
Tom S.
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Waterford
Posts: 3,693
M.O.C. #7500
That's an odd bit of terminology, but I believe they are talking about the circuit breaker box. Probably to eliminate the long run from the rear of the trailer which would result in a voltage drop.
Tom S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2009, 10:02 AM   #3
NCFischers
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New Bern
Posts: 4,067
M.O.C. #8728
Send a message via Yahoo to NCFischers
Jerry,
You can mount the autoformer just about anywhere. I have installed a few of them in the front compartment for some people. They also have 3400's. Any voltage drop would be neglegable for the length of wiring you would use.
NCFischers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2009, 12:30 PM   #4
Jdrobone
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Wilsons
Posts: 396
M.O.C. #9833
10-4, Thanks for the replies,
Jerry
Jdrobone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 03:32 PM   #5
sreigle
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Oceanside
Posts: 20,028
M.O.C. #20
If I recall, if you click the "home" link at the top of this page you'll find a link to a page with pictures of how someone installed theirs. I think it's there. I haven't looked in awhile.
sreigle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 04:32 PM   #6
Mrs. CountryGuy
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: _
Posts: 5,238
M.O.C. #6337
Since Glenn has been sick, some of the links on the homepage have not been updated. Last time I checked ours they still pointed to the now defunct geocities pages. My sig line has the current pages, and I think Al's autoformer intall was moved over to the new ones. Remember, our 2004 install may not be lik that of a newer unit.

We all miss our Glenn!
Mrs. CountryGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 04:16 AM   #7
hookman
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kelowna
Posts: 1,461
M.O.C. #6237
Our Montana came with Gen Prep so I made a bracket and mounted it on the battery side of the metal wall high enough to remove the battery covers. I thought I posted pics of the installation but can not find the posting so when I get home I will post the pics if you want.
Don
hookman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 08:24 AM   #8
sreigle
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Oceanside
Posts: 20,028
M.O.C. #20
Jerry and Sandy, I've been wanting to permanently mount ours but have not done so because I haven't figured out how to run the wiring from the converter. Our 3400 has the converter on the water closet wall, above the toilet. Is that where yours is? If so, if you figure out how to run the wiring down into the basement, I'd appreciate some pointers. Or, if anyone else has figured this out. Thanks and good luck.
sreigle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 03:13 AM   #9
Jdrobone
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Wilsons
Posts: 396
M.O.C. #9833
Thanks for the posts. Haven't purchased the autoformer as yet, so I'm probably gonna wait 'till the tour in Goshen to "see" the guts of this coach. After purchase I can hook it up externally till then.
Thanks again,
Jerry
Jdrobone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 04:09 AM   #10
bncinwv
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Winfield
Posts: 7,312
M.O.C. #6846
Steve,
Does your 3400 have the gen-prep with the Iota smartswitch in the battery compartment?? If so the Autoformer can be directly wired to the shore feed to the smartswitch.
Bingo
__________________

Bingo and Cathy - Our adventures begin in the hills of WV. We are blessed by our 2014 3850FL Big Sky (previous 2011 3750FL and 2007 3400RL) that we pull with a 2007 Chevy Silverado Classic DRW CC dually.
bncinwv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 02:07 PM   #11
sreigle
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Oceanside
Posts: 20,028
M.O.C. #20
Bingo, no to the gen prep and the smart switch. The converter is in the toilet room, behind and above the toilet. I figured I could drop wiring straight down inside that wall to the basement storage area but am not sure whether and how to access that from the basement. Or if that part of the wall is open enough to drop wiring all the way down. If that makes any sense.
sreigle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 02:59 PM   #12
hookman
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kelowna
Posts: 1,461
M.O.C. #6237
This is the Voltage controller that we bought and are very happy with it.
http://www.rvperformanceproducts.com/voltagecontrol.htm
hookman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
30 amp autoformer chas Trailers, Tow Vehicles & RV related items for Sale 3 10-11-2008 05:10 PM
Autoformer exav8tr General Discussions about our Montanas 22 08-19-2008 02:27 PM
Autoformer richfaa Additions & Improvements 10 05-12-2006 02:51 AM
Autoformer harleyrider Additions & Improvements 33 02-24-2006 11:20 AM
Autoformer ???????? Dano General Discussions about our Montanas 3 01-14-2006 05:22 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.