Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > MOC on M.A.R.S. > Maintenance
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-02-2019, 03:24 PM   #1
Wantuck
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: College Station
Posts: 3
M.O.C. #24491
Electrical questions

Just bought a well-maintained 2013 3900FB. When a fuse is pulled why do some cause a red light at the fuse and some not?

Bill Wantuck
College Station, TX
Attached Images
File Type: jpeg 771854C7-FA41-4791-B6EF-DD24DD15ADD2.jpeg (54.7 KB, 316 views)
Wantuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2019, 04:24 PM   #2
Carl n Susan
Site Team
 
Carl n Susan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Carmichael - CA
Posts: 4,024
M.O.C. #4831
As I recall, the red LED only lights if there is a draw (i.e. a light is turned on) on the circuit.
__________________
Carl (n Susan) Youngren
There is more to life than fuel mileage.
2012 Montana 3700RL Big Sky Package towed by a 2015 Ford F350 6.7L PSD 4WD CC LWB

Carl n Susan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2019, 05:57 PM   #3
DQDick
Montana Master
 
DQDick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wilsey
Posts: 16,704
M.O.C. #11455
Yes, that's correct. Something has to be on on that circuit to generate a red light. Which is a good reason to make sure yours are labeled so you are sure what is powering what.
__________________
Dick, Joyce, Diego, Picatso and Gustav
2017 3720 RL, MorRyde pin box
2017 3500 Dodge Maxi DRW 4X4, Pullrite Hitch, IS, Disk Brakes, 3rd AC, Winegard Traveler, Bathroom door mod, Dometic 320, couch for desk swap, etc.
DQDick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2019, 10:15 AM   #4
beeje
Montana Master
 
beeje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: westminster md
Posts: 1,345
M.O.C. #17894
Quote:
Originally Posted by DQDick View Post
Yes, that's correct. Something has to be on on that circuit to generate a red light. Which is a good reason to make sure yours are labeled so you are sure what is powering what.
I marked every light/receptacle/appliance etc. with its corresponding circuit/breaker/fuse #

Now if there is an issue with anything, I can go directly to the right breaker/fuse to turn it off without having to figure out what goes to what.
__________________
2014 GMC 3500 Dually diesel 4x4 CCLB. Curt q24.
2011 Montana 3455 SA. 6 point level up. Disc brakes.
Progressive EMS. Valterra tank valves. Sailun G637 tires. ARP fridge control. All led lighting. Mor Ryde IS to be installed 6/2020
beeje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2019, 12:35 PM   #5
Wantuck
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: College Station
Posts: 3
M.O.C. #24491
Thanks all for the help. Have labeled the fuses.

Couple of new issues:
There is a button in the box called a Wizard button. What is it?
The first and second fuses have a small black something below them. Anyone know what this is?
No power in the lines for the propane gas alarm and the CO. Is there a reset for these?
Wantuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2019, 01:46 PM   #6
Carl n Susan
Site Team
 
Carl n Susan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Carmichael - CA
Posts: 4,024
M.O.C. #4831
The Wizard button is explained here:
http://www.montanaowners.com/forums/...ad.php?t=69366
__________________
Carl (n Susan) Youngren
There is more to life than fuel mileage.
2012 Montana 3700RL Big Sky Package towed by a 2015 Ford F350 6.7L PSD 4WD CC LWB

Carl n Susan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2019, 02:41 PM   #7
BB_TX
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: McKinney
Posts: 5,238
M.O.C. #6433
As noted above, the LED blown fuse indicator will only illuminate if the fuse is blown and there is some type load on that circuit. The LED is connected in parallel to the fuse. As long as the fuse is good, all the current flow is thru the fuse and none (to speak of) flows thru the LED. The fuse must be blown or removed and the LED must have a path to ground for the LED to come on. Pulling a fuse would have the same effect as a blown fuse.
And easy way to visualize it is this. If the circuit is to a light fixture, and the fuse is blown, and if the light bulb is good, and if the switch is on, the electricity will flow thru the LED, thru the wiring, thru the light bulb filament, to ground. The resistance of the LED is very large and the current flow will be very small, not enough to turn on the light.

Now with the same configuration as above, except the switch is now turned off, the current has no path to ground as the circuit is broken at the switch, and the LED will not come on.

Turn the switch on and the LED will come on. Turn the switch off and the LED will turn off.

That is why you can't simply look at LEDs to determine if you have a fuse blown or not.
__________________
Bill & Patricia

2007 3075RL
2012 F350 SRW CC LB FX4 6.7
BB_TX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2019, 12:06 AM   #8
rohrmann
Montana Master
 
rohrmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Box Elder
Posts: 2,821
M.O.C. #12947
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wantuck View Post
Thanks all for the help. Have labeled the fuses.


No power in the lines for the propane gas alarm and the CO. Is there a reset for these?

On the wall behind your battery(ies), there should be two 12 volt auto reset breakers. One breaker will have large wires in and out from the terminals. The other breaker will have a large wire on the battery side of the breaker but will only have small wires connected to the load side. This breaker may have failed or have loose connections, because this is where these detectors are powered from. This is a photo of ours, with the breaker that powers the hydraulics and the main 12 volt electric panel section replaced with the new 80 amp breaker, but the small breaker to the right with the red protector over the terminals is the one that powers those detectors.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 80 amp pump breaker.jpg (63.6 KB, 21 views)
__________________
Bob & Becky
2012 3402RL
2012 Chevy 2500HD D/A CC 4WD
rohrmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2019, 09:56 AM   #9
BB_TX
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: McKinney
Posts: 5,238
M.O.C. #6433
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wantuck View Post
......
No power in the lines for the propane gas alarm and the CO. Is there a reset for these?
My CO detector is 9v battery powered just like the smoke detector.

My propane detector is hardwired. I have never tried it but have read before that they are wired independent of the battery disconnect switch. That would mean it is not wired thru the 12 v fuse panel. So it must be tapped off of one of the auto reset circuit breakers near the battery.
__________________
Bill & Patricia

2007 3075RL
2012 F350 SRW CC LB FX4 6.7
BB_TX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical, fuse

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Montana RV, Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×