Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > Tow Vehicles & Towing
Click Here to Login

Old 02-20-2012, 01:22 PM   #1
seahunter
Montana Master

M.O.C. #11675
Pin Weight and Payload & Camper Cert.

Hi,

For what it's worth, I thought I would post this. I got the camper certification for the F-350 DRW we just got, and the maximum allowable weight is 3,727 pounds and the maximum vehicle weight is 13,300. Truck is about 9,000 pounds. I guess I am still confused because this is the highest payload version, even more than the F-450 (due to it's added weight). The brochure states a payload of 5,990 for the Crew Cab 4X4 Long Bed diesel DRW. I'm new to all this weight stuff, but where is the "missing" weight capacity?? Is payload different than the way they figure allowable weight for a camper? After gear and hitch, and depending on what percentage you estimate for pin weight, it seems like even with a DRW diesel, I am right near the maximum for towing a 15,500 pound Montana or am I missing something? Twenty percent of 15,500 would be 3,100 pounds so it's within capacity but not by much. The towing capacity is 21,500 so I am fine there, but am I looking at this right that I am close for maximum pin weight? Just concerned because I have the living room up front and don't know if that is more or less weight than if it was the bedroom.

Thanks for any comments, much appreciated!

Greg

seahunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 02:00 PM   #2
tracyclifton
Seasoned Camper

M.O.C. #11859