Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > General Discussions about our Montanas
Click Here to Login

Old 06-26-2013, 02:30 AM   #1
gkidsdlite
Montana Fan

M.O.C. #12956
Insulation

I have a lot of time to think about things as I drive a truck for a living and while thinking about my fulltiming future I spend a lot of that time wondering about how the Montana is made! I haven't been to the factory yet and was wondering about the insulation of the Monty! The aluminum studs as near as I can tell are square tubes and they show all the insulation in the walls but the tubes don't show any in them! To my thinking that is a place where they can improve in there construction! Please let me know if I am wrong! I would think you would want foam inserted inside the tubes after all the welding is done!

gkidsdlite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 03:45 AM   #2
dieselguy
Montana Master

M.O.C. #3085
Just guessing, I'd imagine it would be pretty pricey and labor intensive for an RV manufacturer to inject foam into the aluminum frame considering it's many dozens of pieces butt welded together. You'll still have the the outer aluminum tube directly contacting both the inside and outside skins. This issue is a big selling point for SOB's with wood framework. In closing, there are way more recreational RVer's than fulltimers ... I doubt if the non insulation of the wall frame is given much thought with this larger group of buyers. Perhaps your idea could be an option someday as RV's advance in technology.
dieselguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 04:59 AM   #3
mazboy
Montana Master

M.O.C. #9561
no insulation in tubes. just don't go where it is cold
mazboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 05:10 AM   #4
DQDick
Site Team

M.O.C. #11455